COVID-19 Procedures: All business with the Commission should be through electronic filing systems, email, or by telephone. For public health safety, in-person visits to SCC offices are suspended. Filings or other deliveries are permitted by drop off at main entrance. On-site staff is minimal and processing of such deliveries may be delayed.
Surplus Lines BrokersLicense Renewal
Surplus Lines Broker means an individual or business entity licensed to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance on properties, risks, or exposures located or to be performed in Virginia with non-admitted insurers. Surplus Lines Insurance means any property and casualty insurance permitted to be placed directly by an insured or through a Surplus Lines Broker with an eligible non-admitted insurer [from §38.2-4805.2. Definitions]
Note: Individuals with a Property and Casualty license, who transact Surplus Lines business exclusively through an agency Surplus Lines Broker, are not required to hold an individual Surplus Lines Broker license.
Residents must certify that they will keep a $25,000 bond in force in favor of the Commonwealth for as long as the license is effective.
Agencies applying for a Surplus Lines Broker license will be required to have a Designated Licensed Producer - SLB.
The Surplus Lines Broker Maintenance Assessment Report Portal is unavailable until January 3, 2022.
Surplus Lines Brokers Maintenance Assessment Reports are due March 1 pursuant to Chapter 48 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. Penalties may apply.
The minimum Annual Surplus Lines Brokers Assessment is $300 and is required even if no business was transacted.
Once you have keyed in your Virginia license number, the system will automatically calculate the assessment amount due based on the taxable premium entered.
You can print the report and mail it with a check to the address noted on the report, or you can file and pay electronically by selecting the File and Pay Assessment button.
Email us at SLBInquiries@scc.virginia.gov or call us at 804-371-9333 with any questions regarding the filing and payment of assessments.