COVID-19 Procedures: All business with the Commission should be through electronic filing systems, email, or by telephone. For public health safety, in-person visits to SCC offices are suspended. Filings or other deliveries are permitted by drop off at main entrance. On-site staff is minimal and processing of such deliveries may be delayed.
Visit Online Services & Information to renew you license, and update your license information.
Virginia Surplus Lines Broker, Consultant, and Viatical Settlement Broker licenses must be renewed prior to July 1. Non-renewed licenses terminate June 30. All other Virginia licenses are perpetual. Review your license renewal status via License Search.
The online renewal process will be unavailable after June 30. Producers that fail to renew by June 30 must apply for a new license online. Please select one of the following options for your renewal situation:
SURPLUS LINES BROKERS ONLY:RESIDENTS
- As a condition of renewal, the electronic application includes an “attestation” wherein the applicant must certify that they have, and will keep in force for as long as the license remains in effect, a $25,000 bond in favor of the Commonwealth with corporate sureties licensed by the Commission. The surety bond number, effective date and full name of the insurance company must be included on the application for renewal. The Bureau will not require receipt of the actual bond as a condition of renewal.
- Must hold specific license authority to act as a SLB (or equivalent line of authority) in their home state or it will not be renewed. If your home state does not report SLB authority to the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (PDB), electronically attach a current (no more than 90 days old) certification letter from the insurance department in the state in which you reside. Nonresidents are not required to submit a bond.
- If you renew your license but have not filed the Bureau of Insurance Maintenance Assessment Report and paid the Maintenance Assessment, your license may be revoked. The Maintenance Assessment must be paid even if no Virginia business was transacted. Visit the Surplus Lines Brokers page for more information.
- As required by Virginia Code, a Viatical Settlement Broker shall within 60 days of licensure and annually thereafter by March 1 of each year certify to the Commission implementation of anti-fraud initiatives reasonably calculated to detect, prosecute, and prevent fraudulent viatical settlement acts. Review Virginia Code § 38.2-6011 E.
Download and complete the Annual Certification of Anti-Fraud Initiatives Form. Email completed certification forms and any questions concerning your compliance status to VSBAnti-FraudPlan@scc.virginia.gov.
Submit licensing questions to AgentLicensing@scc.virginia.gov.