Maintaining Your Business

Depending on the type of business you operate within the Commonwealth of Virginia, the SCC requires specific filings to maintain an active status. Please click on your business type to learn more.

  1. Annual Registration Fees: all Virginia and foreign corporations must pay their annual registration fee by the last day of the month in which it was incorporated. This fee can be paid online through the Clerk's Information System. If the payment is not received by the due date, a penalty will be imposed equal to 10% of the fee (but not less than $10).
  2. Annual Reports: all Virginia and foreign corporations are required by the Commonwealth to file an acceptable annual report every year following the year of incorporation.  There is no fee associated with filing an annual report and it can be filed online through the Clerk's Information System. The annual report is due each year by the last day of the month in which the corporation was incorporated.

For Virginia Stock and Nonstock Corporations: If a corporation’s annual registration fee is not paid or its annual report is not filed on or before the last day of the fourth month after the due date, the corporation’s existence will be automatically terminated as of that date by operation of law.

For Foreign Stock and Nonstock Corporations: If a corporation’s annual registration fee is not paid or its annual report is not filed on or before the last day of the fourth month after the due date, the corporation’s authority to transact business in Virginia will be automatically revoked as of that date by operation of law.

  1. Annual Registration Fees: all Virginia and foreign limited liability companies must pay their annual registration each year after the year of its formation. The registration fee is due by the last day of the month in which it was formed. This fee is $50 and can be paid online through the Clerk's Information System If the payment is not received by the due date, a $25 penalty will be imposed.

For Virginia Limited Liability Companies: If the annual registration fee is not paid on or before the last day of the third month following its due date, the LLC’s existence will be automatically canceled by operation of law.  

For Foreign Limited Liability Companies: If the annual registration fee is not paid on or before the last day of the third month following its due date, the LLC’s registration to transact business in Virginia will be automatically canceled by operation of law.

  1. Annual Registration Fees: all Virginia and foreign Limited Partnerships and Business Trusts must pay their annual registration each year after the year of its registration with the SCC. The registration fee is assessed July 1st and is due annually on or before September 30th. This fee is $50 and can be paid online through the Clerk's Information System. If the payment is not received by the due date, a $25 penalty will be imposed.

Virginia Limited Partnerships or Business Trusts: If payment is not received by December 31st, the Limited Partnership or Business Trust’s existence will be automatically canceled by operation of law.

Foreign Limited Partnerships or Business Trusts: If payment is not received by December 31st, the Limited Partnership or Business Trust’s registration to transact business in Virginia will be automatically canceled by operation of law.

  1. Annual Continuation Reports: To maintain status as a registered limited liability partnership, all Virginia and foreign limited liability partnerships and limited liability limited partnerships must file an annual continuation report every year following the year of registration. Annual continuation reports are due by July 1st. If the annual continuation report is not received on or before September 1st, the Commission will send a notice of impending cancellation. If the annual continuation report is not filed by November 1st, the registration as a limited liability partnership will be automatically canceled. A $50.00 filing fee is required. The annual continuation report can be filed online in real time through the Clerk's Information System.

All Virginia businesses, and foreign businesses registered to conduct business in the Commonwealth, are required to maintain a registered agent and registered office located in Virginia. You must promptly update the business’ registered agent and/or registered office information if:

  1. The registered agent moves their registered office,
  2. The registered agent resigns, dies, or ceases to be a resident of Virginia
  3. The registered agent ceases to be qualified as a registered agent for your business (i.e. is no longer a member of the Virginia State Bar, or no longer an officer or director of the corporation), OR
  4. If the registered agent is a business entity that has had its existence canceled or terminated, or its authority to transact business in Virginia has been canceled or revoked.

If your registered agent has resigned and a new one has not been appointed within 31 days, you will be notified by the Clerk’s Office of the need to appoint a new registered agent and your business will be placed into a pending inactive status. If you fail to appoint a new Registered agent by the last day of the second month following the month of notification, your business, or registration to transact business in the Commonwealth of Virginia, will be automatically terminated, revoked, or canceled.

If your business has been automatically terminated, revoked, or canceled due to failure to comply with the above requirements, you may reinstate anytime within a five-year period following the termination, revocation or cancellation. Reinstatements can be completed in real time, online through the Clerk's Information System.