The Clerk’s Office offers expedited review and processing of most business entity documents for an additional fee. Note that the formation of basic Virginia stock corporations and limited liability companies can be accomplished in real time using SCC eFile Express without payment of an expedited service fee.
Certain documents in PDF format can be submitted for expedited service online using the SCC eFile PDF Submission option. See eligible documents. Documents submitted when the Commission is closed will be deemed to have been received at the start of the next business day on which the Commission is open.
For paper submissions, the document must be submitted with form SCC21.2, the Expedited Service Request Form. A separate form and expedite fee are required for each document that is submitted for expedited service.
A complete list of the documents that may be submitted for expedited service can be found at the end of the Instructions to form SCC21.2.
Beginning March 4, 2019, documents submitted for expedited service that are deficient will be returned for correction unless the deficiency is minor and can be readily remedied. The Clerk’s Office will attempt to email return-for-correction letters by the deadline for the document’s processing.
For an estimate of the current delivery of service, see our Processing Times
, which is updated once a week. Note that estimates do not include the time associated with the transmittal of correspondence by First Class mail.
Next Day Expedited Service ($100 or $50, depending on document type)
Documents received in the Clerk’s Office by 2:00 p.m. of a business day will be reviewed and processed by 4:00 p.m. on the next business day.
Same Day Expedited Service ($200)
Documents received by 10:00 a.m. of a business day will be reviewed and processed by 4:00 p.m. that same day.
A draft of a document that is eligible for Same Day Expedited Service can be submitted for preliminary review to help make sure the document will meet the requirements of Virginia law when it is delivered for filing. Submissions must be made using form SCC21.2. The fee is $50, and the turnaround time is two business days.
The following transactions are not subject to expedited service:
|Annual registration fee payments
Certificates of good standing
Certificates of existence
Annual report filings
Registered agent resignations
Copies of filed documents
Other certificates of fact
Annual continuation report filings
Service of process
Tax lien filings
Many of the transactions listed in the left column can be completed in real time using SCC eFile.
for Business Entity Documents
as of: July 18, 2019
|Entity Type||Document Type||Business Days
|Corporations||Virginia Articles of Incorporation||6 - 9
|Foreign Applications for a Certificate of Authority||5 - 8
|Amendments & Corrections ||3 - 6
|Withdrawals||1 - 4
|All Entities||Mergers, Conversions, Domestications & Surrenders||6 - 9
|Limited Liability Companies||Virginia Articles of Organization||7 - 10
|Foreign Applications for a Certificate of Registration||8 - 11
|Amendments & Corrections||9 - 12
|Cancellations||1 - 4
|LPs, GPs, LLPs & Business Trusts||All Documents||5 - 8
|Reinstatements||Packets||1 - 2
|Applications||2 - 5
Business days are counted from the date of receipt (DCN). Example: For a document received on Friday, March 1, 2019, the first business day is Monday, March 4, 2019. Given an estimated turnaround time of 7 business days, we estimate that the document will be data entered (i.e., filed) by the close of business on Tuesday, March 12, 2019.