
Real Estate Settlement Agent FAQS  
 
 
 

Registration/Licensing related questions 
 
1. Who is required to be registered? 
 

Any person, other than the lender, seller, purchaser or borrower, who conducts 
the settlement conference and receives or handles money, must be registered.  
See Virginia Code § 55-525.16 and Chapter 395, Rules Governing Settlement 
Agents, Regulation 14VAC5-395-10 through 14VAC5-395-90. 

 
 

2. What are the steps for becoming registered? 
 

All registration must be completed on-line. Please review the Licensing 
Procedures for Title Settlement Agents to Obtain Authority in Virginia. 

 
 

3. I’m an attorney.  Do I need to obtain a title insurance license and register with the 
Bureau to conduct settlements on Virginia property?  

 
If you are admitted to the Virginia State Bar and registered with the Bar, you do 
not need to be registered with the Bureau; however, if you are writing title 
insurance you must hold a title license issued by the Bureau of Insurance. 
 

 
4. Am I required to be licensed as a Title insurance agent if I am only going to 

conduct real estate settlements? 
 

Yes, if you are not an attorney or real estate broker, you must be a licensed Title 
insurance agent and be appointed with a title insurance company as a 
prerequisite to registering as a real estate settlement.  
 

 
5. How do I obtain a title license and company appointment? 
 

You must take the required pre-licensing course (16 hours) and pass the Title 
examination and apply for the license.  Once you have obtained the license, you 
must contact a title insurance company to appoint you.  Information regarding the 
pre-licensing requirements and appointment process may be found in the Virginia 
Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook.  
 
 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title55/chapter27.3/section55-525.16/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter395
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/resa/tsainstructions.pdf
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/resa/tsainstructions.pdf
http://www.pearsonvue.com/va/insurance/
http://www.pearsonvue.com/va/insurance/


6. May I submit a copy of the surety bond to the Bureau in lieu of the original? 
 

You must submit the original Surety Bond to the following address to complete 
the registration process: 
 
Bureau of Insurance 
Attn: Real Estate Settlement Agent Section 

           P.O. Box 1157  
           Richmond, VA  23218  
 
          For overnight delivery:   
 

      1300 East Main Street, Richmond, VA  23219. 
 

 
7. What happens if my company appointment is cancelled? 
 

When your last company appointment is cancelled or not renewed your 
registration is automatically terminated.  You will no longer be authorized to 
conduct closings.  In order to become re-registered, you will have to obtain 
another company appointment, submit another registration form and verify that 
all insurance coverage’s are current.   
 

 
8. What happens if my Title license is terminated? 

 
The termination of your Title license will automatically terminate your company 
appointments and your registration.  You will no longer be authorized to conduct 
closings.  If you wish to re-register, please follow the above referenced 
procedures in Items 2 and 5. 
 

 
9. What happens to my registration when my surety bond is cancelled? 
 

The surety company is required to notify the Bureau within 60 days of the 
effective date of cancellation.  You must provide the Bureau of Insurance with an 
original surety bond replacement or the Bureau of Insurance will terminate your 
registration upon the effective date of cancellation. 
 

 
10. What are the procedures for registering a business entity to conduct settlement/ 

closings? 
 

If the business entity is not licensed to sell Title insurance and appointed by a 
Title insurance company, please follow the Licensing Requirements for 
Corporations, Limited Liability Companies and Partnerships,  otherwise; follow 
Licensing Procedures for Title Settlement Agents to Obtain Authority in Virginia. 
 

http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/files/entity_req.pdf
http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/files/entity_req.pdf
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/resa/tsainstructions.pdf


 
   12.  If a business entity is registered to conduct settlement/closings, does each    

           employee have to be individually registered? 
 

No, if the business entity is registered to conduct closings, the salaried 
employees under that business entity are not required to be registered provided 
that the HUD-1 statements list the company’s name as the settlement agent.  
However, if any of the employees are writing Title insurance, they must be 
licensed and appointed. 
 
 

13.  What effect does it have on a business entity’s (agency) registration if the Office   
       of the Clerk of the State Corporation Commission terminates the business    
       entities charter? 

 
The business entity must reinstate the charter with the Office of the Clerk within 
90 days of the date of termination.  If the charter is not reinstated within the 90 
days, the business entity’s license(s), appointment(s), and CRESPA registration 
will automatically terminate and the entire process must be repeated.  
 

 
 

Audit related questions 
 
 
1. What if I’m registered to perform settlements but none are performed.  Is an 

audit/analysis required? 
 

No, an audit isn’t required but we do require a letter from you and your 
underwriter that no settlements have been performed during the audit period. 
 
 

2. My audit month is September; due to scheduling conflicts my underwriter 
completed our audit in August.  When is my next audit due to be conducted? 

 
Your next audit is due be conducted August of the following year.  If however 
your audit was completed in November your audit due date would remain 
September of the following year. 

 
 

Law/Regulation related questions 
 

1. Are we required to maintain a separate title premium account? 
 

  No, title premium may be disbursed from the agency’s settlement account.     
  Please review VA Code § 55-525.24 for further guidance. 
 



2. We have set up a recording fee account to handle all recording fees collected 
for all states in which we transact business.  Does this comply with Virginia law? 

 
 No, recording fees are considered settlement funds and must be treated as   
 such.  You must have a separate account for Virginia recording fees or retain the  
 fees in the Virginia settlement account.  Additionally, if you establish a Virginia  
 only recording account it must adhere to the statutory requirements. 

 
 

3. May we retain collected overages?   
   

            No, all funds must be disbursed to the applicable party, regardless of the 
amount. 

 
 

4. My trial balance report/files with balances report shows numerous negative file 
balances, but I also have numerous positive file balances which offset them.  
Does this comply? 

 
 No, all negative file balances must be funded as they occur and all positive  
 balances with the exception of escrowed funds held per written agreement must   
 be disbursed timely.  Negative file balances cannot be offset by positive file   
 balances. 
 

 
5. How long must I retain my settlement records? 

 
 Virginia Code Section § 55-525.27 requires you to retain records for 5 years and   
 have them available for review during normal business hours. 
 

 
6. My lender continues to wire Virginia funds to my Maryland account even though 

I’ve advised them of the correct account number.  Will I be cited for this? 
 

   Each case will be reviewed on a case by case basis, but generally if you have   
   documentation that accurate wiring instructions were forwarded and you have a   
  procedure in place whereby corrective transfers occur within two days and prior   
  to disbursement  you would not be cited. 
 

 
  7. Our agency only performs settlements on commercial property.  Do we have to  

  register?    
 

Yes, Virginia Code Section   § 55-525.18 provides a lay real estate settlement    
agent may provide escrow, closing and settlement services for any real property     
located within the Commonwealth and  § 55-525-30 requires registration. 
 

 



  8. We would like to negotiate title premium.  Is this prohibited under the Code of    
       Virginia? 

 
  No, Virginia Code Section § 38.2-4608 E allows the negotiation of rates by an  
  agent or company.  Please be advised your company/agency contract may  
  prohibit it.  

 
 

9. My competitors advertise an all inclusive price for services.  Does this comply     
            with Virginia law? 
 
           There is nothing in the code which prohibits advertising an all inclusive price as     
            long as all fees are properly listed and disclosed on the HUD-1 settlement   
            statement or accompanying addendum. 
 
  10.  Our office provides a home warranty with each settlement, if an owner’s title   

      policy is purchased.  Is this permissible? 
 

  No, Virginia Code § 38.2-509 prohibits the giving of anything of value as an   
  inducement to purchase an insurance policy. 
 
 

RESPA Rule related questions 
 
 

1. How are premiums involving simultaneous issue rates to be shown on the new 
Hud 1?  

  
The actual charges should be shown on the applicable line.  For example, the 
actual charge per underwriter provided rate charts or negotiated rate should 
appear on line 1103 (Owner’s title insurance) of the new HUD-1. The actual 
charge for the loan policy per the underwriter provided rate chart or simultaneous 
issue rate should appear on line 1104 (outside box), (Lender’s title insurance) 
and incorporated in line 1101 (Title services and lender’s title insurance) inside 
the box.   
 
 

 

 


