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The State Corporation Commission’s Bureau of Insurance has developed the following 
information to advise insurers of compliance problems frequently found in the course of Life and 
Health Market Conduct Examinations. Its purpose is not to provide specific guidance on how a 
company should conduct business in Virginia, but to point out compliance areas in which the 
Life and Health Market Conduct Section has discovered problems in the past. It should be 
noted that references within this document to Companies’ failures to comply  with  certain 
statutes or regulations refer to non-compliance with all or part of such statutes or regulations. 

 
This list should not be considered all-inclusive, and the company should continue to 

review Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia (the Code), appropriate chapters  of the Virginia 
Administrative Code (VAC), and the Bureau’s administrative letters to assure compliance. 

 
The common problems compiled in this document were identified as a result of the 

examinations conducted during the last 5 years. The Bureau encourages each insurer to review 
its current procedures to ensure the use of high and consistent compliance standards relating to 
market conduct activities in Virginia. 

 
Any questions regarding this publication should be directed to: 

 
 
 
 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
State Corporation Commission 

Bureau of Insurance 
Market Conduct Section (Life and Health) 

P. O. Box 1157 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 

(804) 371-9532 
Fax (804) 371-9944 

bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2
mailto:bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov
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Failure to establish and maintain a complaint system for each MCHIP. Section 38.2-5804 
of the Code requires a health carrier to establish and maintain for each of its MCHIPs a 
complaint system approved by the Commission and the State Health Commissioner to provide 
reasonable  procedures  for  the   resolution  of  written  complaints.   14 VAC 5-211-150 A 
(HMO only) states that an HMO shall establish and maintain a grievance or complaint system to 
provide reasonable procedures for the prompt and effective resolution of written complaints. 

 
The failure of an MCHIP to handle written complaints in accordance with the procedures and 
timeframes of the complaint system approved by the Commission can result in violations of 
these sections. 

 
Failure to maintain records of written complaints. Section 38.2-5804 A 1 of the Code 
requires that a record of written complaints be maintained for no less than 5 years. 

 
Failure to provide complaint forms and/or written procedures to persons who wish to 
register written complaints. Section 38.2-5804 A 2 of the Code states that a health carrier 
shall provide complaint forms and/or written procedures to covered persons who wish to register 
written complaints. Such forms or procedures shall include the address and telephone number 
of the managed care licensee to which complaints shall be directed and the mailing address, 
telephone number, and electronic mail address of the Office of the Managed Care Ombudsman, 
and shall also specify any required limits imposed by or on behalf of the MCHIP. Such forms 
and written procedures shall include a clear and understandable description of the covered 
person's right to appeal adverse decisions pursuant to § 32.1-137.15 of the Code. 

 
Failure to maintain records of provider contracts. Section 38.2-5802 C of the Code states 
that a health carrier shall maintain a complete file of  all contracts made with health care 
providers, which shall be subject to examination by the Commission. The contracts shall be 
retained in the file for a period of at least five years after their expiration. Section 38.2-5805 C 8 
of the Code (HMO only) states that each such health carrier and intermediary organization shall 
be responsible for maintaining its executed contracts enabling it to provide health care services. 
These contracts shall be available for the Commission's review and examination for a period of 
five years after the expiration of any such contract. 

 
Failure to include the required “hold harmless” language in provider or intermediary 
contracts (HMO only). Section 38.2-5805 C 9 of the Code states that the "hold harmless" 
clause required by this section shall read essentially as set forth in this subdivision. The health 
carrier may use a corresponding provision of different wording approved by the Commission 
that is not less favorable in any respect to the covered persons. Section 38.2-5805 C 10 of the 
Code states that if there is an intermediary organization between the health carrier and the 
health care providers, the hold harmless clause shall be amended to include nonpayment by the 
plan, the health carrier, and the intermediary organization and shall be included in any contract 
between the intermediary organization and health care providers and in any contract between 
the health carrier on behalf of the MCHIP and the intermediary organization. 

 
MANAGED CARE HEALTH INSURANCE PLANS (MCHIPs) 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5804/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter211/section150
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5804/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5804/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title32.1/chapter5/section32.1-137.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5802/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5805/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5805/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter58/section38.2-5805/
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Failure of provider contracts to contain specific provisions and failure to adhere to the 
minimum standards in claims handling. Section 38.2-3407.15 B of the Code requires that 
every provider contract entered into, amended, extended or renewed on or after July 1, 1999, 
shall contain specific provisions, which shall require the carrier to adhere to and comply with 
minimum fair business standards in the processing and payment of claims for health care 
services. 

 
Section 38.2-3407.15 of the Code was effective July 1, 1999 and is applicable to contracts 
entered into, amended, extended or renewed on or after that date, originally requiring each 
provider contract to contain and comply with 9 specific provisions. This Code Section was 
amended in 2004 and 2005, adding additional provisions and modifying the language and 
requirements of the existing provisions. The current version of § 38.2-3407.15 of the Code is 
applicable to contracts entered into, amended, extended or renewed on or after January 1, 2006 
and requires each provider contract to contain and comply with 11 specific provisions. 

 

 
 

(Life & Annuity and Accident & Sickness) 
 

Failure to maintain advertising file. 14 VAC 5-40-60 B and 14 VAC 5-90-170 A require each 
insurer to maintain at its home or principal office a complete file containing every printed, 
published, or prepared advertisement with a notation attached indicating the manner and extent 
of distribution and the form number of any policy advertised. It is the opinion of the examiners 
that the “manner and extent of distribution” should include an indication of when the use of the 
advertisement began, the method of distribution, when it was discontinued, the number of 
advertisements disseminated, and the intended audience. 

 
Every carrier shall maintain control over the method of dissemination, content, and form of all 
advertisements/marketing communications regardless of by whom written, created, designed, or 
presented, as required by 14 VAC 5-40-60 A and 14 VAC 5-90-20 B. 

 
Note: When violations of Chapter 40 and Chapter 90 of the Virginia Administrative Code are 
cited, it does not necessarily mean that the advertisement/marketing communication has 
actually misled or deceived any individual to whom it was presented. An 
advertisement/marketing communication may be cited for violations of certain sections of the 
regulations if it is determined by the Bureau of Insurance that an advertisement/marketing 
communication has the capacity or tendency to mislead or deceive from the overall impression 
that the advertisement/marketing communication may be reasonably expected to create within 
the segment of the public to which it is directed and, for marketing communications, the overall 
impression that the marketing communication may be reasonably expected to create upon a 
person of average education or intelligence within such segment of the public. 

 
ETHICS AND FAIRNESS 

 
ADVERTISING/MARKETING COMMUNICATIONS 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter34/section38.2-3407.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter34/section38.2-3407.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter34/section38.2-3407.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter40/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section170
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter40/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section20
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter40
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90


 
4 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

BUREAU OF INSURANCE 

REVISED 2015 

 
 

Failure to comply with specific requirements. 

(Life and Annuity) 

14 VAC 5-40-40 A 5 requires a marketing communication using the terms “Non-medical,” “No 
medical examination required,” or similar terms where issuance of a policy is not guaranteed, to 
include a disclosure of equal prominence and in juxtaposition thereto that issuance of the policy 
may depend upon answers to health questions. 

 
14 VAC 5-40-40 E 2 prohibits a marketing communication of a particular policy from using the 
phrase “low cost” or any similar term unless such is capable of being demonstrated to the 
satisfaction of the Commission. 

 
(Accident and Sickness) 

 
Note: Effective August 4, 2004, 14 VAC 5-90-10 et seq. was amended to include definitions of 
an “invitation to contract” and an “invitation to inquire.” Certain regulations apply only to one or 
the other. The definitions are as follows: 

 
“Invitation to contract” – an advertisement that includes in any manner an application for 
insurance. 

 
“Invitation to inquire” – an advertisement having as its objective the creation of a desire to 
inquire further about accident and sickness insurance and that is limited to a brief description of 
the loss for which benefits are payable and does not contain an application for coverage, but 
may include (i) the dollar amount of benefits payable, and (ii) the period of time during which 
benefits are payable. An invitation to inquire may not refer to cost, except as otherwise 
permitted by this chapter. 

 
Note: For all definitions, please refer to 14 VAC 5-90-30. 

 
14 VAC 5-90-50 A requires that the format and content of an advertisement be sufficiently 
complete and clear to avoid the capacity or tendency to mislead or deceive. 

 
14 VAC 5-90-60 A 1 prohibits the omission of or use of information, words, or phrases, if such 
omission or use would have the capacity or tendency to mislead as to the nature or extent of 
any policy benefit payable, loss covered, or premium payable. 

 
14 VAC 5-90-60 B 1 states that an invitation to contract shall  disclose those  exceptions, 
reductions, and limitations affecting the basic provisions of the policy. 

 
14 VAC 5-90-130 A states that the name of the actual insurer and the form number or numbers 
of the policies being advertised and the form number of any application shall be stated on all 
invitations to contract. An invitation to contract shall not use a trade name, any insurance group 
designation, name of the parent company of the insurer, name of a particular division of the 
insurer, service mark, slogan, symbol or other device which without disclosing the name of the 
actual insurer would have the capacity and tendency to mislead or deceive as to the true identity 
of the insurer. 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter40/section40
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter40/section40
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section30
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section50
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter90/section130
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Violations of the regulations above also place insurers in violation of §§ 38.2-502, 38.2-503, and  
38.2-4312 A of the Code, which prohibit a company from placing before the public an 
advertisement, statement, presentation or representation relating to policy benefits or the 
business of insurance that is deemed to be untrue, deceptive, or misleading. 

 

 
 

Failure to file and receive approval of policy forms prior to use. Subsections A, B, and C of 
§ 38.2-316 of the Code, 14 VAC 5-100-50, and 14 VAC 5-211-60 A set forth filing and approval 
requirements for policy/contract forms, certificates, applications, evidences of coverage, riders, 
amendments, endorsements, and other forms that are to be delivered or issued for delivery 
within this Commonwealth in addition to approval requirements for certain premium rate 
changes. 

 
Note: 14 VAC 5-100-50 3 requires a form to be submitted in the final form in which it is to be 
marketed or issued, and 14 VAC 5-100-40 2 states that where forms are submitted as 
replacements, revisions or modifications of previously approved forms, such must be clearly 
indicated in the letter of transmittal which shall set forth the exact changes that are intended. 

 
Note: Section 38.2-3725 A of the Code, which also sets forth requirements for policy forms, is 
addressed in the Credit Life and Credit Accident & Sickness Insurance section of this document. 

 
Failure to file Explanation of Benefits (EOB) forms. Section 38.2-3407.4 A of the Code 
requires each company issuing accident and sickness  coverage to file its EOBs with the 
Commission for approval. These forms are subject to the requirements of § 38.2-316 or § 38.2-  
4306 of the Code, as applicable. 

 
Failure to track  and  send  proper  notice  of  copayment  maximums  (HMO  only).  
14 VAC 5-211-90 B sets forth the maintenance and notification requirements in cases where an 
HMO has established a copayment maximum. The HMO must keep accurate records of each 
enrollee’s copayment expenses and notify the enrollee within 30 days after the HMO has 
processed sufficient claims to determine that the copay maximum is reached. No additional 
copayments will be charged for the balance of the contract or calendar year, and the HMO shall 
promptly refund to the enrollee any copayments charged after this maximum is reached. The 
evidence of coverage must display any maximum copayment amount as a specified dollar 
amount and clearly state the HMO’s procedure for meeting the requirements of this subsection. 

 

 
 

Failure to license and appoint agents. Section 38.2-1822 A of the Code requires a person to 
be licensed prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating contracts or receiving any commission from 
the sale, solicitation, or negotiation of any such contract. Section 38.2-1833 A 1 of the Code 
requires a company to, within 30 days of the date of execution of the first application submitted 
by a licensed but not yet appointed agent, either reject such application or appoint the agent. 

 
POLICY AND OTHER FORMS 

 
AGENTS 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-502/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter43/section38.2-4312/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter43/section38.2-4312/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-316/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-316/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter100/section50
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter211/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter100/section50
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter100/section40
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3725/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter34/section38.2-3407.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter3/section38.2-316/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter43/section38.2-4306/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter43/section38.2-4306/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter43/section38.2-4306/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter211/section90
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/section38.2-1822/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/section38.2-1833/
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Note: Section 38.2-3734 of the Code, which also sets forth license requirements, is addressed 
in the Credit Life and Credit Accident & Sickness Insurance section of this document. 

 
Payment of commissions to agents who are not licensed or appointed. Section 38.2-  
1812 A of the Code prohibits the payment of commissions or other valuable consideration to an 
agent or agency that is not appointed and that was not licensed at the time of the transaction 
out of which arose the right to such commission or other valuable consideration. 

 
Failure to notify agent/Commission of appointment termination. Section 38.2-1834 D of 
the Code requires that an agent be notified within 5 days and the Commission within 30 days 
upon termination of an appointment. 

 

 
 

Failure to provide required Disclosure Authorization Form. Subsection 8 of § 38.2-606 of 
the Code requires all disclosure authorization forms to advise that the individual or the 
individual's authorized representative is entitled to receive a copy of the authorization form. 

 
Failure to provide required Adverse Underwriting Decision (AUD) Notice. Section 38.2-  
610 of the Code requires that, in the event of an adverse underwriting decision, the insurance 
institution or agent responsible for the decision shall give a written notice in a form approved by 
the Commission. Section 38.2-610 A 2 of the Code requires the AUD notice to provide the 
applicant with a summary of the rights established under §§ 38.2-610 B, 38.2-608 and 38.2-609 
of the Code. 

 
Note: For further guidance as to what constitutes an Adverse Underwriting Decision under 
Virginia Law, and to review a prototype AUD notice, please refer to Administrative Letter 
2015-07.  

 

 
 

Failure to maintain a complete record of complaints. Section 38.2-511 of the Code requires 
that a complete record of complaints be maintained for all complaints that the carrier has 
received since the date of the carrier’s last examination. All health carriers subject to Chapter 
58 of this title must maintain a record of the complaints for no less than five years. The record 
shall indicate the number of complaints, the classification by line of insurance, the nature of 
each complaint, the disposition of each complaint, and the time it took to process each 
complaint. 

 
UNDERWRITING/UNFAIR DISCRIMINATION/INSURANCE INFORMATION AND PRIVACY 

PROTECTION ACT/INSURANCE REPLACEMENT 

 
COMPLAINTS 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3734/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/section38.2-1812/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/section38.2-1812/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/section38.2-1812/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter18/section38.2-1834/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-606/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-610/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-610/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-610/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-610/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-610/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-608/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter6/section38.2-609/
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/15-07.pdf
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/15-07.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-511/
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Failure to acknowledge and act reasonably promptly upon communications with respect 
to claims. Section 38.2-510 A 2 of the Code prohibits, as a general business practice, failing to 
acknowledge and act reasonably promptly upon communications with respect to claims arising 
under insurance policies. 14 VAC 5-400-50 A (if applicable) states that every insurer, upon 
receiving notification of a claim shall, within 10 working days, acknowledge the receipt of such 
notice unless payment is made within such period of time. If an acknowledgement is made by 
means other than writing, an appropriate notation of such acknowledgement shall be made in 
the claim file of the insurer and dated. Notification given by a claimant to an agent of an insurer 
shall be notification to the insurer. 
Failure to adopt and implement reasonable standards for the prompt investigation of 
claims. Section 38.2-510 A 3 of the Code prohibits, as a general business practice, failing to 
adopt and implement reasonable standards for the prompt investigation of claims arising under 
insurance policies. 14 VAC 5-400-60 B (if applicable) states that, unless otherwise specified in 
the policy, if an investigation of a first party claim has not been completed, every insurer shall, 
within 45 days from the date of  the notification of a first party claim  and every  45 days 
thereafter, send to the first party claimant a letter setting forth the reasons additional time is 
needed for investigation. 
Failure to affirm or deny a claim within a reasonable period of time. Section 38.2-510 A 5 
of the Code prohibits, as a general business practice, the failure to affirm or deny claims within a 
reasonable time after proof of loss statements have been completed.  14 VAC 5-400-60 A 
(if applicable) requires that, unless otherwise stated in the policy, within 15 working days after 
receipt by the company of properly executed proofs of loss, a first party claimant shall be 
advised of the acceptance or denial of the claim by the company. 

 
Failure to attempt in good faith to make prompt, fair and equitable settlements of claims. 
Section 38.2-510 A 6 of the Code prohibits, as a general business practice, not attempting in 
good faith to make prompt, fair and equitable settlements of claims in which liability has become 
reasonably clear. 14 VAC 5-400-70 D (if applicable) states that, in any case where there is no 
dispute as to coverage or liability, every insurer must offer to a first party claimant, or to a first 
party claimant's authorized representative, an amount which is fair and reasonable as shown by 
the investigation of the claim, provided the amount so offered is within policy limits and in 
accordance with policy provisions. 

 
Failure to promptly provide a reasonable explanation of the basis in the insurance policy 
for denial of a claim. Section 38.2-510 A 14 of the Code prohibits, as a general business 
practice, failing to promptly provide a reasonable explanation of the basis in the insurance policy 
in relation to the facts or applicable law for denial of a claim or for the offer of a compromise 
settlement. 14 VAC 5-400-70 B (if applicable) states that no insurer shall deny a claim unless a 
reasonable explanation of the basis for such denial is included in the written denial. Specific 
reference to a policy provision, condition or exclusion shall be made when a denial is based on 
such provision, condition or exclusion. 

 
CLAIMS 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter400/section50
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter400/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter400/section60
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter400/section70
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter400/section70
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Failure to disclose the method of benefit calculation and actual amount paid to the 
provider on the EOB. Section 38.2-514 B of the Code states that no person shall provide to an 
insured, claimant, subscriber or enrollee under an accident and sickness insurance policy, 
subscription contract, or HMO contract, an explanation of benefits which does not clearly and 
accurately disclose the method of benefit calculation and the actual amount which has been or 
will be paid to the provider of services. 

 
Failure to accurately set forth the benefits payable on the EOB. Section 38.2-3407.4 B of 
the Code requires an explanation of benefits to accurately and clearly set forth the benefits 
payable under the contract. 

 
Failure to pay interest on claim proceeds as required. Section 38.2-3115 B of the Code (life 
insurance and annuity only) states that interest upon the principal sum shall be paid at an 
annual rate of 2-1/2 percent or the annual rate currently paid by the insurer on proceeds left 
under the interest settlement option, whichever is greater, commencing from the date of death 
to the date of payment. Section 38.2-3407.1 B of the Code (accident and sickness insurance 
only) requires interest to be paid on claims from the date of 15 working days after the receipt of 
proof of loss. Section 38.2-4306.1 B of the Code (HMO only) sets forth the requirement for 
payment of interest on claim proceeds from the date of 30 days from the date the proof of loss is 
received to the date of claim payment. 

 
Holding an enrollee liable for the cost of covered services prior to a Coordination of 
Benefits determination (HMO only). 14 VAC 5-211-80 B states that a health care plan shall 
not be relieved of its duty to provide a covered health care service to an enrollee because the 
enrollee is entitled to coverage under other policies, contracts, or health care plans. In the event 
that benefits are provided by a health care plan and another policy, contract, or health care plan, 
the determination of the order of benefits shall in no way restrict or impede the rendering of 
services required to be provided by the health care plan. The HMO shall be required to provide 
or arrange for the service first and then, at its option, seek coordination of benefits with any 
other health insurance or health care benefits or services that are provided by other group 
policies, group contracts, or group plans. Until a coordination of benefits determination is made, 
the enrollee shall not be held liable for the cost of covered services provided. 

 

 
 

As a result of target market conduct examinations of insurers licensed in Virginia to write Credit 
Life Insurance and/or Credit Accident and Sickness Insurance, the Bureau of Insurance 
discovered widespread violations of the statutory requirements in Chapter 37.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. This section has been added to the Common Problems publication to point out areas 
in which compliance problems were frequently found. 

 
Inappropriate issuance of credit insurance based on the scope under Chapter 37.1 of the 
Code. Subsection 1 of § 38.2-3717 of the Code prohibits the issuance of credit insurance in 
connection with a loan or other credit transaction of more than ten years duration. Subsection 2  
of § 38.2-3717 of the Code prohibits the issuance of credit insurance in connection with a loan 
or other credit transaction that is secured by a first deed of trust and made to finance the 
purchase of real property or the construction of a dwelling thereon, or to refinance a prior credit 
transaction made for such a purpose. 

 
CREDIT LIFE AND CREDIT ACCIDENT & SICKNESS INSURANCE 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter5/section38.2-514/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter34/section38.2-3407.4/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter31/section38.2-3115/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter34/section38.2-3407.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter43/section38.2-4306.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title14/agency5/chapter211/section80
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3717/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3717/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3717/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3717/
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Failure to file and receive approval of policy forms prior to use. Section 38.2-3725 A of the 
Code states that no form shall be delivered or issued for delivery in Virginia until a copy of each 
form has been filed with and approved by the Commission. 

 
Failure to provide prompt and appropriate refunds in the event of early termination. 
Section 38.2-3729 A of the Code requires that, in the event of termination of the insurance prior 
to the scheduled maturity date of the indebtedness, any refund of an amount paid by the debtor 
for  insurance  must  be  paid  or  credited  promptly  to  the  person  entitled  thereto. 
Sections 38.2-3729 H 1 and 38.2-3729 H 2 of the Code require an insurer to provide the 
appropriate credit life and credit accident and sickness insurance premium refunds in the event 
that a debtor prepays the indebtedness other than as a result of death. 

 
Failure to properly handle claims. Section 38.2-3731 A of the Code requires that claims be 
reported promptly to the insurer; that the insurer maintain adequate claim files; and that all 
claims be settled as soon as possible and in accordance with the terms of the insurance 
contract. 

 
Failure to oversee activities delegated to creditors. Subsections 1 and 2 of § 38.2-3732 of 
the Code require any insurer that delegates any of its duties to a creditor to see that the creditor 
charges the proper insurance rates and makes refunds properly. If either the insurer or the 
creditor fails to comply, both will be subject to any and all disciplinary actions authorized under 
this title. 

 
Note: As outlined in Administrative Letter 2004-2, insurers are reminded that it is their 
responsibility to ensure that all duties delegated to a creditor are discharged in accordance with 
applicable laws and regulations. The Bureau will hold the insurer responsible and accountable 
for any failures, oversights, omissions or violations committed by the creditor conducting 
business on behalf of the insurer. 

 
Failure to license and appoint agents. Section 38.2-3734 of the Code prohibits any person 
from selling, soliciting, or negotiating policies of credit life insurance or credit accident and 
sickness insurance without first applying for and obtaining a license from the Commission as a 
life and annuities insurance agent, a health agent, or a limited lines credit insurance agent and 
becoming appointed to represent the insurer in the Commonwealth. 

 
Note: As stated in Administrative Letter 2002-9, any person or entity that sells, solicits, or 
negotiates contracts of insurance or annuity in Virginia on behalf of an insurer is required to hold 
a valid insurance agent’s license in Virginia. Any entity, be it insurer, agency or agent, that 
receives a commission from an insurer, directly or indirectly (whether characterized as an 
“override,” “fee,” or otherwise) arising from the sale of a contract of insurance or annuity, even if 
there was no active “selling, soliciting, or negotiating” by that entity, must be licensed and 
appointed in Virginia. If a store, bank or dealership provides its customers with the opportunity 
to purchase credit insurance and is paid a commission, it would need to be licensed as an 
agency. Please refer to Administrative Letter 2002-9 for  further clarification including the 
Bureau’s position regarding “enrollers.” 

 
Failure to provide proper disclosures. Section 38.2-3735 A of the Code requires that if the 
creditor makes available to the debtors more than one plan of credit life insurance or more than 
one plan of credit accident and sickness insurance, all debtors must be informed of all such 
plans for which they are eligible; section 38.2-3735 A 2 of the Code requires the creditor to 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3725/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3729/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3729/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3729/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3731/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3732/
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/04-02.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3734/
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/02-09.pdf
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/02-09.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3735/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3735/
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provide to each debtor a disclosure form which clearly discloses the difference in premiums 
charged for a contract wherein the gross indebtedness is insured versus a contract wherein only 
the net indebtedness is insured; and section 38.2-3735 C 2 of the Code requires that the debtor 
be given a disclosure form which clearly discloses the difference in premiums charged for a 
contract with credit insurance and one without credit insurance. 

 
Failure to file application for approval. Section 38.2-3737 A of the Code states that no 
contract of insurance upon a debtor shall be made or effectuated unless at the time of the 
contract, the debtor applies for the insurance in writing on a form approved by the Commission. 

 

 
 

Examinations; how conducted. Section 38.2-1318 C of the Code requires that every 
company or person from whom information is sought, its officers, directors, and agents shall 
provide the examiners convenient access at all reasonable hours to its books, records, files, 
securities, accounts, papers, property, assets, business and affairs of the company being 
examined or those of any person, including any affiliates or subsidiaries of the person 
examined, that are relevant to the examination. 

 
EXAMINATIONS 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3735/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter37.1/section38.2-3737/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter13/section38.2-1318/

	(Life & Annuity and Accident & Sickness)
	Failure to comply with specific requirements. (Life and Annuity)
	(Accident and Sickness)

