Applying for a Virginia Insurance License
Please select shaded links below to display content.
For an Individual:
Step 1: Residents Only - Obtain a Criminal History Record Report (CHRR)
Nonresidents do not need a CHRR.
To obtain a Criminal History Record Report (CHRR) contact the Virginia State Police (VSP) at (804) 674-2131 or visit www.vsp.state.va.us. When completing the form, have the report mailed back to the candidate, not to the Bureau. The CHRR must be no more than 90 days old when submitted with an application.
Applicants who have been Virginia residents for less than 6 months would need to obtain a CHRR from their previous home state.
For an additional fee, the candidate may request an expedited VSP CHRR through the following insurance industry associations: Independent Insurance Agents of Virginia, Inc., www.iiav.com,
or National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors, www.NAIFA-Virginia.org.
Step 2: Pass the Appropriate Licensing Examination (Exams may be taken prior to obtaining a CHRR)
Candidates may register for examinations at Pearson Vue or via telephone at 1-888-204-6272.
Candidates are encouraged to review the Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook published by Pearson VUE for exam content outlines and detailed information regarding licensing.
Residents applying for a Title license must complete a 16-hour pre-licensing study course and pass the Title examination within one year from the date the study course is completed.
Florida and Pennsylvania statutes require nonresident applicants to pass their Title exam for licensure. As such, the Bureau of Insurance requires Florida and Pennsylvania Title applicants to pass the Virginia Title exam for licensure in Virginia. However, Virginia statutes do not require nonresident applicants to take Virginia’s pre-licensing study course prior to taking the Title exam. For more information, please contact the Agent Licensing Section at (804) 371-9631 or send an email to AgentLicensing@scc.virginia.gov.
Step 3: Apply for the License Online through NIPR or Sircon
Residents should apply for the license via Sircon
and attach the CHRR with all related documents to the application.
Nonresidents may apply for the license via Sircon or NIPR and attach all related documents to the application. Non-resident applicants are required to be currently licensed as a resident in their home state and in good standing. Virginia reciprocates licensure with states that report records to the NAIC's Producer Database (PDB). Any license held in the applicant's home state (with the exception of PA and FL title licenses) can be applied for in Virginia with no exam or CHRR required.
To track an application status or view licensing/appointment information visit www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry.
Allow 15 business days for processing. Applicants with misdemeanor or felony convictions may take longer to review. An application is closed after 30 calendar days if all of the required documentation is not provided.
Information for Agents Moving to Virginia
Licensed agents moving to Virginia must submit an application to become a resident agent. Resident licenses in the former state must be inactivated to obtain a Virginia resident license.
The Bureau will verify licensing status through the NAIC’s Producer Database (PDB). Agents are not required to take an exam to obtain any line of authority held in their previous home state so long as the application is received within 90 calendar days of the inactivation. If the application (and nonrefundable application processing fee) is not submitted within 90 calendar days of the inactivation, then all resident pre-licensing requirements will need to be satisfied in order to obtain a Virginia license.
An agent with an active nonresident Virginia license will be granted 90 calendar days from the inactivation date of their previous home state license(s) to submit their resident Virginia license application. The nonresident license will remain valid during the 90-calendar-day period, and appointments made will remain in effect, unless terminated for other reasons.
If the agent obtains a resident Virginia license within the 90-calendar-day period, any active appointments will automatically be transferred when the resident license is issued. If the agent has not obtained a resident Virginia license by the end of the 90-calendar-day period, then the equivalent nonresident license(s) and associated appointment(s) will be canceled.
Information for Applicants with Misdemeanor or Felony Convictions
Applicants with misdemeanor or felony convictions are reviewed on a case-by-case basis and need to submit the following supporting documentation with their application:
- A detailed written statement explaining the circumstances surrounding each offense.
- A copy of the Charging Document.
- A copy of a document that demonstrates the final disposition of the case.
- A copy of the Sentencing order.
- If applicable, a copy of the court document or a letter from the probation officer indicating completion of probation.
- If applicable, documentation demonstrating the conviction has been pardoned or expunged.
- If applicable, documentation that the applicant’s Civil Rights have been restored.
- If applicable, a letter from applicant’s employer or prospective employer indicating they are aware of the felony conviction.
- If applicable, a copy of the 1033 consent approved by your home state (nonresidents only).
Contact the Clerk of the Court that had jurisdiction over the case to obtain the court documents required to review the application. After receiving all required documents described above, the Bureau will review the request or may request additional information as needed to evaluate the application. Once a decision has been made (allow a minimum of 60 days), the applicant will be notified.
Federal law, 18 U.S.C. § 1033, disqualifies individuals convicted of certain felony crimes involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from working in the insurance industry. This ban may be removed if approval is given by the Commissioner of Insurance for the individual to remain or become employed in the insurance industry. If an individual applies for an insurance license, the Bureau will determine if a written consent is required during its review of the license application.
Individuals who will be working in the insurance industry in an unlicensed capacity must submit the Application for Written Consent to Engage in the Business of Insurance to the Bureau of Insurance.
For an Agency:
Step 1: Apply for the License Online through NIPR or Sircon
Apply for the license via NIPR
Insurance agencies are required to maintain a Designated Licensed Producer (DLP) responsible for the agency's compliance with insurance laws and regulations. The DLP must be an employee, officer, or director of the agency. Regarding Limited Liability Companies and Partnerships, the Bureau will accept members and partners respectively as the DLP.
With respect to a business entity holding certain types of a limited lines license, the DLP is not required to be an employee, officer, or director of the vendor or lessor. Business entities are required within 30 calendar days to report the removal of the DLP and the name of the new DLP.
Step 2: Register the Agency with the SCC's Office of the Clerk of the Commission (Clerk's Office)
The Clerk's Office can be contacted at (804) 371-9733. Registration with the Clerk's Office must be completed within 90 days of obtaining the Virginia license, otherwise the license will be terminated. The Agency may also register prior to obtaining the license. The Bureau will verify registration electronically.