Skip to main content
SCC Banner Image
 |   |   |   |     Tyler Building
Please note: The SCC website will be unavailable Thursday, April 24, from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. for system maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.
Division of Securities & Retail Franchising


Broker-Dealer & Agent Registration Instructions

Note: All broker-dealer and agent registrations expire annually at midnight on the 31st day of December unless renewed.
Virginia does not have a deminimus for broker-dealers.

Broker-Dealer Initial Registration

Broker-Dealer Agent Initial Registration

Broker-Dealer Post-registration Reporting

Broker-Dealer Annual Renewal

Broker-Dealer Agent Annual Renewal

  • Broker-Dealer Initial Registration
    • FINRA member broker-dealers
      • 21 VAC 5-20-10 AExternal Link logo requires that a firm meet FINRA’s membership requirements
      • 21 VAC 5-20-10 BExternal Link logo requires an applicant file directly with the Web Central Registration Depository system:
        • completed Form BDExternal Link logo designating Virginia as a jurisdiction;
        • the statutory fee of $200 paid from the applicant’s CRD Daily Account;
      • 21 VAC 5-20-70External Link logorequires that applicants provide evidence that principals satisfy examination requirements;
      • register each of its representatives providing advice to a Virginia resident as required by § 13.1.504External Link logo; and
      • any other information the Commission may require.
    • Non-FINRA member broker dealers
      • 21 VAC 5-20-10 DExternal Link logo requires an applicant to file directly with the Division:
        • a completed Form BDExternal Link logo designating Virginia as a jurisdiction;
        • a statutory fee of $200 made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia;"
        • financial statements required by 21 VAC 5-20-80External Link logo
      • 21 VAC 5-20-70External Link logo requires that applicants provide evidence that principals satisfy examination requirements;
      • register each of its agents providing advice to a Virginia resident as required by § 13.1.504External Link logo; and
      • any other information the Commission may require.
    • Employment by more than one broker-dealer
      • 21 VAC 5-20-95External Link logo allows agents to be employed by more than one broker-dealer if the following conditions are satisfied:
        • each employing broker-dealer is under common ownership and control;
        • each employing broker-dealer is registered in Virginia;
        • each employing broker-dealer executes an Agent Multiple Employment Agreement (Form S.A. 16) and files the executed agreement with the Commission at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising prior to transacting business;
        • the agent is registered in accordance with 21VAC 5-20-90External Link logo by and on behalf of each employing advisor.
  • Agent Initial Registration
    • Agent of FINRA member firm
      • 21 VAC 5-20-90 AExternal Link logo requires an applicant applying for initial registration as an agent with the Division to file directly with the Web Central Registration Depository system:
        • completed Form U-4External Link logo designating Virginia as a jurisdiction;
        • the statutory fee of $30 paid from the applicant’s CRD Daily Account;
        • evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of passing: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State Law Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar examination in general use by securities administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the Commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising designates;
        • any other information the Commission may require.
    • Agent of non-FINRA member firm
      • 21 VAC 5-20-90External Link logo requires an applicant applying for initial registration as an agent with the Division to file directly with the Web Central Registration Depository system:
        • A completed Form U-4;External Link logo
        • a statutory fee of $30 paid from the applicant’s CRD Daily Account;
        • evidence in the form of a NASD exam report of passing: (i) the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, Series 63; (ii) the Uniform Combined State Law Examination, Series 66, and the General Securities Representative Examination, Series 7; or (iii) a similar examination in general use by securities administrators which, after reasonable notice and subject to review by the commission, the Director of the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising designates;
        • any other information the Commission may require.
    • Employment by more than one broker-dealer
      • 21 VAC 5-20-95External Link logo allows agents to be employed by more than one broker-dealer if the following conditions are satisfied:
        • each employing broker-dealer is under common ownership and control;
        • each employing broker-dealer is registered in Virginia;
        • each employing broker-dealer executes an Agent Multiple Employment Agreement (Form S.A. 16) and files the executed agreement with the Commission at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising prior to transacting business;
        • the agent is registered in accordance with 21VAC 5-20-90External Link logo by and on behalf of each employing advisor.
  • Broker-Dealer Post-registration Reporting
    Virginia does not require those broker-dealers who are FINRA member firms to file audited annual financial statements.
    • FINRA member broker-dealers
      • 21 VAC 5-20-40 AExternal Link logo requires that broker-dealers update Form BD as required by Form BD instructions and shall file all such amendments on and in compliance with all requirements of the NASAA/NASD Central Registration Depository system and in full compliance with the regulations prescribed by the commission.
    • Non-FINRA member broker-dealers
      • 21 VAC 5-20-40 BExternal Link logo requires that non-FINRA members update its Form BD as required by Form BD instructions and shall file all such amendments with the Commission at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising.
  • Broker-Dealer Annual Renewals
    • FINRA member broker-dealers
      • 21 VAC 5-20-30 AExternal Link logo A FINRA member firm will be billed by the Central Registration Depository system the statutory fee of $200 prior to the annual expiration date. A renewal of registration will be granted upon payment of the proper fee unless the registration was, or the renewal would be, subject to revocation under § 13.1-506External Link logo.
    • Non-FINRA member broker-dealers
      • 21 VAC 5-20-30 BExternal Link logo requires all other broker-dealers to file the following items at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising thirty-days prior to the expiration of registration:
        • Form S.A.2
        • A statutory fee of $200 made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia;”
        • The most recent certified financial statements;
  • Agent Annual Renewals
    • Agent of FINRA-member Firm
      • 21 VAC 5-20-110 AExternal Link logo A FINRA member firm will be billed by the Central Registration Depository system requires that member firms renew the registration of its agents the statutory fee of $30 per agent. A renewal of registration will be granted as a matter of course upon payment of the proper fees unless the registration was, or the renewal would be, subject to revocation under § 13.1-506External Link logo.
    • Agent of non-FINRA member Firm
      • 21 VAC 5-20-110 BExternal Link logo requires all other broker-dealers to file the following items at its Division of Securities and Retail Franchising thirty-days prior to the expiration of registration:
        • Form S.D.4.A
        • A statutory fee of $30 made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia;”

FORMS TABLE