
NOTICE TO VIRGINIA CORPORATIONS 
 

Congratulations on successfully forming a Virginia corporation.  Please take a few minutes to read the information 
below, which describes several statutory provisions applicable to corporations. 
 

Corporate name: The certificate of incorporation shows the exact name of the corporation as set forth in its articles 
of incorporation.  If the corporation intends to conduct business in Virginia under a name other than its exact name, 
it must make the required filings under Virginia’s fictitious name statutes. See § 59.1-69 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia. 
 

Registered agent and registered office: Each corporation is required to maintain in Virginia a registered agent and a 
registered office at which the registered agent may be found during normal business hours.  See §§ 13.1-634 and 
13.1-637 of the Code of Virginia for stock corporations and §§ 13.1-833 and 13.1-836 of the Code for nonstock 
corporations.  The sole duty of the registered agent is to forward to the corporation at its last known address any 
process, notice or demand that is served on the registered agent.  Official notices and correspondence from the 
Commission to the corporation will be mailed to the registered agent at the registered office address. 
 

A corporation may change its registered agent and/or registered office information on file with the Commission at 
any time, at no cost.  The corporation must promptly change its registered agent and registered office information if 
its registered agent (i) moves his business office, (ii) resigns, dies or ceases to be a resident of Virginia, (iii) ceases 
to be a member of the Virginia State Bar or an officer or director of the corporation (when that was the basis for his 
qualification as registered agent), or (iv) is a business entity that has had its existence canceled or terminated or its 
authority to transact business in Virginia canceled or revoked.  To change this information, the corporation must file 
a Statement of Change on form SCC635/834, which can be filed online at https://sccefile.scc.virginia.gov or be 
obtained as a pre-printed paper form by visiting www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/ElectronicFormRequest.aspx. 
 

Annual registration fees: The corporation will be assessed an annual registration fee as of the first day of the second 
month preceding the month in which it was incorporated.  For a stock corporation, the fee is based on the number of 
shares of stock that the corporation is authorized to issue, as stated in the articles of incorporation, on the date of 
assessment.  See Annual Corporation Requirements and Fee Schedule at www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/dom_corp.aspx.  
The annual registration fee for a nonstock corporation is $25.00.  Notice of the assessment will be mailed to the 
corporation’s registered agent at the registered office address approximately 15 days after the assessment.  The 
Commission must receive the corporation’s annual registration fee payment on or before the last day of the month in 
which the corporation was incorporated (the “due date”), or a penalty will be imposed equal to 10% of the fee (but 
not less than $10.00).  Annual registration fees may be paid online at https://sccefile.scc.virginia.gov.  For payments 
delivered by mail, postmarks are not considered. 
 

Annual reports: The corporation must file an annual report, on a form prescribed by the Commission, each year after 
the year of incorporation.  The annual report will be mailed to the registered agent with the annual registration fee 
assessment notice.  The corporation’s annual report must be received on or before the last day of the month in 
which the corporation was incorporated (the “due date”).  An annual report that does not change director or officer 
information on the records of the Commission may be filed online at https://sccefile.scc.virginia.gov. 
 

Automatic termination: If a corporation’s annual registration fee is not paid or its annual report is not filed on or 
before the last day of the fourth month after the due date, the corporation’s existence will be automatically 
terminated as of that date by operation of law.  See §§ 13.1-752, 13.1-775 and 13.1-775.1 of the Code of Virginia for 
stock corporations and §§ 13.1-914, 13.1-936 and 13.1-936.1 of the Code for nonstock corporations. 
 

Voluntary dissolution and termination: A Virginia corporation may voluntarily dissolve and terminate its existence by 
filing articles of dissolution and articles of termination in the Clerk’s Office of the Commission.  See §§ 13.1-743, 
13.1-750 and 13.1-751 of the Code of Virginia for stock corporations and §§ 13.1-904, 13.1-912 and 13.1-913 of the 
Code for nonstock corporations.  Forms and instructions may be obtained from the Clerk’s Office.  If termination is 
completed on or before the annual registration fee due date of any year, the annual registration fee assessed for the 
year will be canceled.  If termination is not completed on or before the due date, the fee must be paid.  See § 13.1-
615 of the Code of Virginia for stock corporations and § 13.1-815 of the Code for nonstock corporations. 
 

Additional assistance: For forms or more information, visit www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/index.aspx or contact the Clerk’s 
Office at (804) 371-9733 or toll-free in Virginia, 1-866-722-2551. 
 

Raising capital: If you intend to solicit money or property from other persons to finance the operation of your 
business, you may need to first file certain information with the Commission’s Division of Securities and Retail 
Franchising pursuant to the Virginia Securities Act.  See § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code of Virginia.  For more 
information, visit www.scc.virginia.gov/srf/index.aspx or contact the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, 
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218-1197, (804) 371-9051. 
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