Virginia Surplus Lines Broker, Consultant, and Viatical Settlement Broker licenses
must be renewed prior to July 1. Non-renewed licenses terminate June 30.
All other Virginia licenses are perpetual. Review your license renewal status via
The online renewal process will be unavailable after June 30. Producers that
fail to renew by June 30 must apply for a NEW license online. Please select
one of the following options for your renewal situation:
SURPLUS LINES BROKERS ONLY:
RESIDENTS: As a condition of renewal, the electronic application includes an “attestation” wherein the applicant must certify that they have, and will keep in force for as long as the license remains in effect, a $25,000 bond in favor of the Commonwealth with corporate sureties licensed by the Commission. The surety bond number, effective date and full name of the insurance company must be included on the application for renewal. The Bureau will not require receipt of the actual bond as a condition of renewal.
NONRESIDENTS must hold specific license authority
to act as a SLB (or equivalent line of authority) in their home state or it will
not be renewed. If your home state does not report SLB authority to the NAIC’s Producer
Data Base (PDB), electronically attach a current (no more than 90 days old) certification
letter from the insurance department in the state in which you reside. Nonresidents are not required to submit a bond.
ALL SURPLUS LINES BROKERS If you renew your license but have not filed the Bureau of Insurance Maintenance Assessment Report and paid the Maintenance Assessment, your license may be revoked. The Maintenance Assessment must be paid even if no Virginia business was transacted. Visit
for additional information
ALL VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKERS As required by Virginia Code, a Viatical Settlement Broker shall within 60 days of licensure and annually thereafter by March 1 of each year certify to the Commission implementation of anti-fraud initiatives reasonably calculated to detect, prosecute, and prevent fraudulent viatical settlement acts. Review a copy of Virginia Code § 38.2-6011 E at https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title38.2/chapter60/section38.2-6011/.
Visit www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx to download and properly complete the Annual Certification of Anti-Fraud Initiatives Form. Email completed certifications and any questions concerning your compliance status to VSBAnti-FraudPlan@scc.virginia.gov.
Submit licensing questions to AgentLicensing@scc.virginia.gov.
All electronic processes may be accessed from the