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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CH 200 10-VAC-5-200 Payday Lending Rules  

 
10VAC5-200-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means the Payday Loan Act (§6.1-444 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

"Business day" for purposes of clause 1 (vi) of §6.1-459 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter means a day on which the licensee's office is open for business as posted 

as required by subsection A of 10VAC5-200-70. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Duplicate original" for purposes of subdivision 2 of §6.1-459 of the Code of Virginia 

and this chapter means an exact copy of a signed original, an exact copy with signatures 

created by the same impression as the original, or an exact copy bearing an original 

signature. 

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of clause 1 (vi) of §6.1-459 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter means a certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if the 

licensee is equipped to handle such payments, payment effected by use of a credit card. 

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means cash on hand and in 

depository institutions, money market funds, commercial paper, and treasury bills. 

"Member of the military services of the United States" for purposes of the Act and 

this chapter means a regular or reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, 
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Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty under a 

call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer. 

"Other dependent of a member of the military services of the United States" for 

purposes of the Act and this chapter means (i) an individual under the age of 18 whose 

mother or father is a member of the military services of the United States or (ii) an 

individual for whom a member of the military services of the United States provided more 

than one-half of the individual's financial support for 180 days immediately preceding the 

date the individual applied for a payday loan. 

"Small," as used in the definition of "payday loan" in §6.1-444 of the Code of Virginia, 

means $2,500 or less. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meaning set forth in §6.1-444 of 

the Act.  

10VAC5-200-20. Requirements for licensees; operating rules; acquisitions. 

A. A licensee shall maintain unencumbered liquid assets per place of business in 

Virginia of at least $25,000 at all times. The bureau may require submission of proof of 

maintenance of such liquid assets at any time. 

B. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly or indirectly, 25% or more 

of the voting shares of a corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 

person licensed to conduct business under the Act shall pay a nonrefundable application 

fee of $500. 

C. Each original license shall be prominently posted in each place of business of the 

licensee. In order for a licensee to receive a replacement or reissued license, a licensee 

shall pay a fee of $50 per place of business to the commission. Licenses will only be 
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replaced or reissued if the licensee is in compliance with all laws and regulations 

applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business. 

D. If a person has filed a bond with the bureau, as required by §6.1-448 of the Code 

of Virginia, such bond shall be retained by the bureau notwithstanding the occurrence of 

any of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or revoked; or 

2. The person ceases engaging in business as a payday lender. 

E. Upon becoming licensed, a licensee shall give written notice to the bureau of its 

commencement of business within 10 days thereafter. 

F. For purposes of clause 1 (v) of §6.1-459 of the Code of Virginia, the number of 

days in a borrower's pay cycle and the corresponding minimum loan term shall be 

determined by a licensee in accordance with the following: 

1. If a borrower is paid on a weekly or more frequent basis, there are seven days 

in the borrower's pay cycle and the minimum loan term shall be 14 days. 

2. If a borrower is paid on a biweekly basis, there are 14 days in the borrower's 

pay cycle and the minimum loan term shall be 28 days. 

3. If a borrower is paid on a semimonthly basis, there are 15 days in the 

borrower's pay cycle and the minimum loan term shall be 31 days. 

4. If a borrower is paid on a monthly basis, there are 30 days in the borrower's 

pay cycle and the minimum loan term shall be 62 days. 

5. If a borrower is paid either (i) less frequently than monthly, or (ii) on an 

irregular basis (but less frequently than weekly), there are 30 days in the 

borrower's pay cycle and minimum loan term shall be 62 days. 
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G. A licensee shall retain supporting documentation for a borrower's pay cycle in 

each loan file, which may consist of (i) a copy of a borrower's pay stub or similar periodic 

earnings statement that clearly reflects the borrower's pay cycle, or (ii) a representation 

by the borrower in the written loan application.  

H. A licensee shall not electronically debit a borrower's deposit account or otherwise 

obtain any funds from a borrower by electronic means, including the use of the 

Automated Clearing House network, electronic funds transfers, electronic check 

conversions, or re-presented check entries. 

I. With the exception of the check given by a borrower to a licensee as security for a 

payday loan, a licensee shall not collect or receive from a borrower any interest or fees 

permitted by §6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia, either in whole or in part, prior to the date 

of loan maturity unless the borrower is voluntarily making a full or partial prepayment 

pursuant to 10VAC5-200-40. If a borrower enters into an extended payment plan or 

extended term loan, a licensee shall not collect or receive any interest or fees, either in 

whole or in part, prior to the due date of a scheduled installment unless the borrower is 

voluntarily making a payment in advance. 

J. The amount of the check given by a borrower to a licensee as security for a 

payday loan shall not exceed the sum of the principal amount advanced to the borrower 

and the interest and fees permitted by §6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia. If a borrower 

enters into an extended payment plan at the time a loan is obtained, the amount of the 

check shall not include any interest. 

K. Upon satisfaction of a loan or upon learning that a loan has been satisfied, a 

licensee shall attach to each loan agreement either (i) a copy of the signed and dated 

receipt for the payment that satisfied the loan or (ii) if a judgment was obtained and 

satisfied, a copy of the judgment marked satisfied. 
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L. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision B 2 of 10VAC5-200-33 or subdivision 

D 1 of 10VAC5-200-35, the check used to secure a payday loan shall be dated as of the 

date the loan is due. A licensee shall not deposit or otherwise present for payment a 

check given as security for a loan, including an extended term loan or a loan that a 

borrower elected to repay by means of an extended payment plan, prior to the date 

stated on the face of the check. A licensee shall not require or accept multiple checks or 

any additional or alternative security in connection with a payday loan. 

M. If a borrower (i) cancels a loan in accordance with subsection G of 10VAC5-200-

40, or (ii) repays a loan in full with cash or good funds instrument and not with the check 

securing the loan, the licensee shall immediately return the check given as security for 

the loan to the borrower. 

10VAC5-200-33. Extended payment plans. 

A. In any rolling 12-month period, an eligible borrower may elect to pay an 

outstanding payday loan from any licensee by means of an extended payment plan. A 

borrower shall not be eligible to obtain an extended payment plan if the borrower 

obtained an extended payment plan within the preceding 12 months. 

B. A borrower may enter into an extended payment plan at any time on or after the 

date a loan is made through the date that the loan is due to be repaid. A borrower shall 

not be permitted to repay a past due payday loan by means of an extended payment 

plan. If a loan is past due and a borrower cannot obtain an extended payment plan, a 

licensee may voluntarily accept payments from a borrower in accordance with 

subsection H of 10 VAC 5-200-70. 

1. If an eligible borrower elects an extended payment plan, a licensee shall 

permit the borrower to repay the amount owed in at least four equal installments 



Page 6 of 39  

over a term of at least 60 days. The dollar amount of each installment shall be 

the same and the installment due dates shall be spread out evenly over the term 

of the extended payment plan (e.g., if the term is 60 days and there are four 

installments, an installment shall be due every 15 days). 

2. If a borrower enters into an extended payment plan on the date a loan is 

made, the check used to secure the loan shall be dated as of the date the final 

installment is due. A licensee shall not require or accept multiple checks or any 

additional or alternative security in connection with an extended payment plan. A 

borrower shall have the option of exchanging security checks with a licensee at 

the time the borrower makes a payment on an extended payment plan. If a 

borrower wishes to exchange security checks, a licensee shall upon receipt of 

the payment return the check held as security to the borrower and the borrower 

shall deliver to the licensee a replacement security check, dated as of the date 

the final installment is due, for the remaining amount owed to the licensee. 

3. A borrower who elects to repay a payday loan with an extended payment plan 

shall not be eligible for another payday loan until 90 days after the borrower has 

repaid or satisfied in full the balance of the loan. 

C. A licensee shall provide notice to borrowers of the potential availability of the 

extended payment plan option in accordance with the provisions of this subsection. 

1. A licensee shall conspicuously post in each licensed location a written notice 

in at least 24-point bold type informing borrowers that they may be eligible to 

enter into an extended payment plan. The minimum size for such written notice 

shall be 24 inches by 18 inches. 
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2. The title of the written notice, which shall appear in at least 48-point bold type, 

shall be "NOTICE – EXTENDED PAYMENT PLANS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE 

BORROWERS AT NO ADDITIONAL COST."  

3. The required text of the written notice shall be as follows: 

If you are eligible, you have the option of repaying a payday loan by means of 

an extended payment plan. You may only obtain an extended payment plan 

once in any rolling 12-month period (even if you obtain loans from different 

lenders or locations). You may obtain an extended payment plan at any time 

on or after the date that you receive your loan through the date that your loan 

is due to be repaid. Under an extended payment plan, you will be permitted to 

repay the amount you owe in at least four equal installments over a term of at 

least 60 days. You will not be charged any additional interest or fees in 

connection with an extended payment plan, and interest will not accrue 

during the term of an extended payment plan. When you make a payment on 

an extended payment plan, you will have the option of providing a 

replacement security check for the remaining amount you owe. Please be 

advised that if you obtain an extended payment plan, you will not be 

permitted to get another payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 days 

after you fully repay or satisfy the extended payment plan. 

4. If the payday lending database referred to in 10VAC5-200-110 advises a 

licensee that an applicant is eligible for an extended payment plan, the licensee 

shall immediately provide oral notice to the applicant that (i) the applicant is 

eligible to repay the payday loan through an extended payment plan; (ii) 

information about extended payment plans may be found on the poster in the 

licensee’s office or in the “Borrower Rights and Responsibilities” pamphlet; and 



Page 8 of 39  

(iii) the licensee is available to answer any questions that the applicant may have 

about extended payment plans.  When providing this notice, the licensee shall 

also direct the applicant to the specific locations of both the poster referred to in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection and the section of the pamphlet entitled 

"Extended Payment Plans." 

D. A licensee shall immediately give a borrower receipts, signed and dated by the 

licensee, for all payments made in connection with an extended payment plan. The 

receipts shall also state the loan balance due after each payment. 

E. A licensee shall retain the written and signed extended payment plan document 

identifying the terms of the extended payment plan and provide the borrower with a 

duplicate original. A licensee shall also retain copies of receipts provided in accordance 

with subsection D of this section. Upon full repayment or satisfaction of an extended 

payment plan, a licensee shall mark both the original loan agreement and original 

extended payment plan document with the word “paid” or “canceled,” return both items 

to the borrower, and retain copies in its loan records. 

10VAC5-200-35. Five payday loans within 180 days. 

A. A borrower obtaining a fifth payday loan within any rolling 180-day period may 

elect, at the option of the borrower, (i) to repay the loan through an extended payment 

plan, unless the borrower previously elected an extended payment plan within the 

preceding 12 months, or (ii) to obtain the loan in the form of an extended term loan. 

B. If a borrower does not obtain an extended payment plan or extended term loan in 

connection with his fifth payday loan in 180 days, the borrower shall not be eligible for 

another payday loan until 45 days after the date the fifth payday loan is paid or otherwise 

satisfied in full. 
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C. If a borrower previously obtained an extended payment plan within the preceding 

12-month period, the borrower shall not be eligible to repay a fifth payday loan obtained 

in any rolling 180-day period by means of an extended payment plan. However, if an 

eligible borrower elects to repay a fifth payday loan obtained in any rolling 180-day 

period by means of an extended payment plan, the provisions of 10VAC5-200-33 shall 

apply.  A borrower who elects to repay such loan by means of an extended payment 

plan shall not be eligible for another payday loan until 90 days after the borrower has 

repaid or satisfied in full the balance of the loan. 

D. The following provisions shall apply to extended term loans. 

1. An extended term loan is a payday loan, as this term is defined in §6.1-444 of 

the Code of Virginia. As with other payday loans, an extended term loan shall be 

secured by a check that does not exceed the sum of the principal amount 

advanced to the borrower and the interest and fees permitted by §6.1-460 of the 

Code of Virginia. The check used to secure an extended term loan shall be dated 

as of the date the final installment is due. A licensee shall not require or accept 

multiple checks or any additional or alternative security in connection with an 

extended term loan. A borrower shall have the option of exchanging security 

checks with a licensee at the time the borrower makes a payment on an 

extended term loan. If a borrower wishes to exchange security checks, a licensee 

shall upon receipt of the payment return the check held as security to the 

borrower and the borrower shall deliver to the licensee a replacement security 

check, dated as of the date the final installment is due, for the remaining amount 

owed to the licensee. 

2. If an eligible borrower elects an extended term loan, a licensee shall permit the 

borrower to repay the amount owed in four equal installments over a term of 60 
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days.  The dollar amount of each installment shall be the same and the 

installment due dates shall be spread out evenly over the term of the extended 

term loan (i.e., an installment shall be due every 15 days). 

3. The terms of an extended term loan shall be set forth in a written agreement 

signed and dated by the borrower.  An eligible borrower may elect the extended 

term loan option only on the date a payday loan is made. 

4. A borrower who obtains an extended term loan shall not be eligible for another 

payday loan during the longer of 90 days following the date the extended term 

loan is paid or otherwise satisfied in full, or 150 days following the date the 

extended term loan is obtained. Subject to one of the applicable waiting periods 

associated with a fifth loan in any rolling 180-day period, a borrower may be 

eligible for consecutive extended term loans or multiple extended term loans in 

any rolling 12-month period. 

5. A licensee shall immediately give a borrower receipts, signed and dated by the 

licensee, for all payments made in connection with an extended term loan. The 

receipts shall also state the loan balance due after each payment. 

6. A licensee shall retain the written and signed extended term loan agreement 

and provide the borrower with a duplicate original. A licensee shall also retain 

copies of receipts provided in accordance with subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

Upon full repayment or satisfaction of an extended term loan, a licensee shall 

mark the original extended term loan agreement with the word "paid" or 

"canceled," return it to the borrower, and retain a copy in its loan records. 

E. A licensee shall provide notice to borrowers of the potential availability of the 

extended term loan option in accordance with the provisions of this subsection. 
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1. A licensee shall conspicuously post in each licensed location a written notice 

in at least 24-point bold type informing borrowers that they may be eligible to 

obtain an extended term loan. The minimum size for such written notice shall be 

24 inches by 18 inches. 

2. The title of the written notice, which shall appear in at least 48-point bold type, 

shall be "NOTICE – EXTENDED TERM LOANS AVAILABLE TO BORROWERS 

OBTAINING A FIFTH PAYDAY LOAN WITHIN 180 DAYS." 

3. The required text of the written notice shall be as follows: 

The Payday Loan Act gives borrowers obtaining their fifth payday loan within 180 

days the option to receive it in the form of an extended term loan. An extended 

term loan is a payday loan under which you are permitted to repay the amount 

you owe in four equal installments spread out evenly over a term of 60 days. You 

may obtain an extended term loan even if you previously obtained another 

extended term loan or an extended payment plan. If you want an extended term 

loan, you must choose this option on the date you obtain the payday loan. When 

you make a payment on an extended term loan, you will have the option of 

providing a replacement security check for the remaining amount you owe. 

Please be advised that if you obtain an extended term loan, you will not be 

permitted to get another payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 days 

after you fully repay or satisfy the extended term loan or 150 days after you 

obtain the extended term loan (whichever is longer). However, even if you do not 

choose an installment payment arrangement, you will still be unable to obtain 

another payday loan from any lender for a period of 45 days after you fully repay 

or satisfy your fifth payday loan. 
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4. If the payday lending database referred to in 10VAC5-200-110 advises a 

licensee that an applicant is eligible for an extended term loan, the licensee shall 

immediately provide oral notice to the applicant that (i) the applicant is eligible to 

obtain an extended term loan; (ii) information about extended term loans may be 

found on the poster in the licensee’s office or in the “Borrower Rights and 

Responsibilities” pamphlet; and (iii) the licensee is available to answer any 

questions that the applicant may have about extended term loans.  When 

providing this notice, the licensee shall also direct the applicant to the specific 

locations of both the poster referred to in subdivision 1 of this subsection and the 

section of the pamphlet entitled "Five Payday Loans within 180 days." In addition, 

if the payday lending database advises a licensee that an applicant is eligible for 

an extended payment plan, the licensee shall also comply with subdivision C 4 of 

10VAC5-200-33. 

F. Payday loans made prior to January 1, 2009, shall not be considered for purposes 

of determining how many loans a borrower obtained in any rolling 180-day period. 

10VAC5-200-40. Borrower prepayment; right to cancel. 

A. In order to prepay a payday loan in full, a borrower shall only be required to pay 

the principal amount advanced as well as any accrued and unpaid fees. A borrower shall 

be permitted to make partial payments, in increments of not less than $5.00, on the loan 

at any time without charge. The licensee shall give the borrower signed, dated receipts 

for each payment made, which shall state the balance due on the loan. 

B. For purposes of the Act and this chapter, the interest and loan fee permitted by 

subsections A and B of §6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed accrued on a 

straight line basis over the term of a payday loan. A licensee shall calculate interest 

charges using either a 360-day year or a 365-day year. The verification fee permitted by 



Page 13 of 39  

subsection C of §6.1-460 of the Code of Virginia shall be deemed accrued in full at the 

time a payday loan is made. 

C. 1. A borrower choosing to prepay his payday loan in full shall only be responsible 

for the verification fee and the pro-rata portion of the total interest and loan fee based 

upon the number of days that have elapsed between the loan disbursement date and the 

date of repayment. (For example, if a $400 loan with a simple annual interest rate of 

36%, a 20% loan fee, a $5.00 verification fee, a term of 28 days, and a 360-day year is 

prepaid in full after seven days, the borrower shall only be required to pay in cash or 

good funds instrument $427.80 ($400 + $2.80 interest + $20 loan fee + $5.00 verification 

fee to the licensee.)  

2. A borrower choosing to make partial payments on a payday loan shall only be 

responsible for the verification fee and the pro-rata portion of the total interest 

and loan fee based upon the timing and amount of such partial payments. (For 

example, given a $500 loan with a simple annual interest rate of 36%, a 20% 

loan fee, a $5.00 verification fee, a term of 31 days, and a 360-day year, a 

borrower making a partial payment of $200 after 15 days shall only be required to 

pay a total of 603.91 to the licensee ($500 principal + $103.91 interest and fees).  

In this example,  $60.89 of the borrower's $200 partial payment would be applied 

toward interest ($7.50) and fees $($48.39 loan fee + $5.00 verification fee) and 

the remaining $139.11 would be applied toward principal, thereby resulting in an 

outstanding balance of $360.89 until maturity. Based on this outstanding 

balance, the charges for the remainder of the term are $5.77 (interest on $360.89 

for 16 days) + $37.25 (loan fee on $360.89 pro-rated for 16 days).) 

D. If a borrower enters into an extended payment plan and subsequently elects to 

prepay it in full, the borrower shall only be responsible for the verification fee, any 
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interest that accrued prior to the borrower entering into the extended payment plan, and 

the pro-rata portion of the total loan fee based upon the number of days that have 

elapsed between the loan disbursement date and the date the loan would have been 

due if the borrower had not entered into the extended payment plan.  The total payoff 

amount shall be reduced by the amount of any installment payments made by the 

borrower prior to prepaying the extended payment plan in full. 

1. Example: Assume that a borrower who is paid on a semimonthly basis 

(minimum term of 31 days) obtains a $500 loan on April 1 with an extended 

payment plan, an extended payment plan term of 60 days, no interest (interest 

does not accrue during the term of an extended payment plan), a 20% loan fee, a 

$5.00 verification fee, and installment payments of $151.25 due on April 16, May 

1, May 16, and May 31. Since the borrower is paid on a semimonthly basis, the 

loan fee shall accrue over a period of 31 days. If the borrower prepays the 

extended payment plan in full on April 21, the borrower shall only be required to 

pay in cash or good funds instrument the principal ($500), a pro-rata portion of 

the loan fee ($64.52), and the verification fee ($5.00) for a total of $569.52 to the 

licensee. If the borrower made an installment payment of $151.25 on April 16, 

the payoff amount on April 21 would be $418.27 ($569.52 - $151.25). 

2. Example: Assume that a borrower who is paid on a semimonthly basis obtains 

a $500 loan on April 1 with a simple annual interest rate of 36%, a 20% loan fee, 

a $5.00 verification fee, a term of 31 days, and a 360-day year. Next assume that 

the borrower elects an extended payment plan on April 23 with a term of 60 days 

and installment payments of $154 due on May 8, May 23, June 7, and June 22. If 

the borrower prepays the extended payment plan in full on June 2, the borrower 

shall only be required to pay in cash or good funds instrument the principal 
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($500), the interest that accrued prior to the borrower electing an extended 

payment plan ($11), the entire loan fee ($100), and the verification fee ($5.00) for 

a total of $616 to the licensee. If the borrower made installment payments of 

$154 on both May 8 and May 23, the payoff amount on June 2 would be $308 

($616 - $154 - $154). 

E. If a borrower enters into an extended term loan and subsequently elects to prepay 

it in full, the borrower shall only be responsible for the verification fee and the pro-rata 

portion of the total interest and loan fee based upon the number of days that have 

elapsed between the loan disbursement date and the loan maturity date (i.e., the date 

the fourth installment is due).  The total payoff amount shall be reduced by the amount of 

any installment payments made by the borrower prior to prepaying the extended term 

loan in full. 

Example: Assume that a borrower obtains a $500 extended term loan on April 1 with 

a simple annual interest rate of 36%, a 20% loan fee, a $5.00 verification fee, a 360-day 

year, a 60-day term, and installment payments of $158.75 due on April 16, May 1, May 

16, and May 31. If the borrower prepays the extended term loan in full on May 20, the 

borrower shall only be required to pay in cash or good funds instrument the principal 

($500), the interest that accrued for 49 days ($24.50), a pro-rata portion of the loan fee 

($81.67), and the verification fee ($5.00) for a total of $611.17 to the licensee.  If the 

borrower made installment payments of $158.75 on April 16, May 1, and May 16, the 

payoff amount on May 20 would be $134.92 ($611.17 - $158.75 - $158.75 - $158.75). 

F. Unless it results in the prepayment in full of an extended payment plan or 

extended term loan pursuant to subsection D or E of this section, a partial payment, 

excess payment, installment payment, or other payment received by a licensee in 

advance of the date the funds are due under the terms of the extended payment plan or 
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extended term loan shall not result in a modification of the payment schedule or a pro-

rata adjustment of the total interest, if any, or loan fee.  Payments made by a borrower 

pursuant to an extended payment plan or extended term loan shall be first applied to any 

past due installment and then to the next regularly scheduled installment. 

G. Notwithstanding any provision of this section, a borrower shall have the right to 

cancel a payday loan (including an extended term loan or a loan repayable by means of 

an extended payment plan) at any time before the close of business on the next 

business day following the date of the loan by paying to the licensee, in the form of cash 

or good funds instrument, the principal amount advanced to the borrower. The licensee 

shall not be entitled to charge or receive any interest or fees, including a verification fee, 

when a borrower cancels a payday loan. 

10VAC5-200-60. Posting of charges. 

A. A licensee shall conspicuously post in its licensed location a schedule of 

payments, fees and interest charges, with examples using (i) a $300 loan payable in 14 

days; (ii) a $300 loan payable in 31 days; (iii) a $300 loan payable in 62 days; (iv) a $300 

loan payable through an extended payment plan that is elected on the date the loan is 

obtained; (v) a $300 loan payable through an extended payment plan that is elected on 

the 15th day of a 31-day term; and (vi) a $300 extended term loan. 

B. A licensee shall display its fees and interest charges not only as a dollar amount, 

but also as an Annual Percentage Rate, which shall be stated using this term, calculated 

in accordance with Federal Reserve Board Regulation Z (12 CFR 226.1 et seq.). 

10VAC5-200-70. Additional business requirements and restrictions. 

A. A licensee shall conspicuously post in its licensed locations the days and hours 

during which it is open for business. 
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B. A licensee shall not deposit or otherwise present for payment more than two times 

any check given by a borrower as security for a loan, and in no event shall a licensee 

recover from a borrower more than a total of $25 attributable to returned check fees 

incurred by the licensee with respect to a single check. 

C. A licensee shall not knowingly make a payday loan to a member of the military 

services of the United States, or the spouse or other dependent of a member of the 

military services of the United States. To enable a licensee to make this determination, a 

licensee shall clearly and conspicuously include the following questions in its written loan 

application, which the licensee shall require each applicant to answer before obtaining a 

payday loan. A licensee shall not make a payday loan to an applicant unless the 

applicant answers “no” to all of the these questions: 

1. Are you a regular or reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine 

Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty under a 

call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer? 

2. Are you married to a regular or reserve member of the United States Army, 

Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active 

duty under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer? 

3. Are you under the age of 18 and the son or daughter of a regular or reserve 

member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, 

or National Guard serving on active duty under a call or order that does not 

specify a period of 30 days or fewer? 

4. Was more than one-half of your financial support for the past 180 days 

provided by a regular or reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, 
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Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty 

under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer? 

D. A licensee shall maintain in its licensed offices such books, accounts, and records 

as the Commissioner of Financial Institutions may reasonably require in order to 

determine whether such licensee is complying with the provisions of the Act and all rules 

and regulations adopted in furtherance thereof. Such books, accounts, and records shall 

be maintained apart and separate from those relating to any other business in which the 

licensee is involved. Such records relating to loans, including loan applications, shall be 

retained for at least three years after final payment is made on any loan. 

E. A licensee shall report, in accordance with §6.1-455 of the Code of Virginia, the 

institution of an action against the licensee under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act 

(§59.1-196 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) by the Attorney General or any other 

governmental authority. 

F. A licensee shall endeavor to provide the loan documents, printed notice, and 

pamphlet required by 10VAC5-200-30, in a language other than English when a 

prospective borrower is unable to read the materials printed in English. 

G. A licensee shall not file or initiate a legal proceeding against a borrower until 60 

days after the date of default on a payday loan, including defaults under extended 

payment plans or extended term loans, during which time the licensee and borrower 

may voluntarily enter into a repayment arrangement. 

H. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to prohibit a licensee from 

voluntarily accepting a payment on an outstanding loan from a borrower after the date 

that such payment was due to the licensee.  However, except as otherwise permitted by 
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the Act and this chapter, the licensee shall not collect, receive, or otherwise recover any 

additional interest, fees, or charges from the borrower. 

10VAC5-200-80. Payday lending pamphlet text. 

The required text of the payday lending pamphlet referred to in 10VAC5-200-30 is as 

follows:  

PAYDAY LENDING IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BORROWER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Please take the time to carefully review the information contained in this pamphlet. It 

is designed to advise you of your rights and responsibilities in connection with obtaining 

a payday loan in Virginia under the Payday Loan Act, §6.1-444 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia. If you have any questions about payday lending or want additional information, 

you may contact the Virginia State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Financial 

Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or on the Internet at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. The Bureau of Financial Institutions has available a 

"Consumer Guide to Payday Lending" that may be viewed at this website or obtained by 

calling the toll-free telephone number listed above. 

In General: You are responsible for evaluating whether a payday loan is right for 

you. Alternatives may include among other things less expensive short-term financing 

from another financial institution, family, or friends, a cash advance on a credit card, an 

account with overdraft protection, or a loan repayable over several months. 

Notice from Lender: The lender is required to provide you with a clear and 

conspicuous printed notice advising you that a payday loan is not intended to meet long-

term financial needs and that you should use a payday loan only to meet occasional or 

unusual short-term cash needs.  
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Payday Lending Database: Before making a payday loan to you, a lender is 

required by Virginia law to access a database that contains detailed information about 

payday loans made to Virginia residents by all lenders licensed to do business in 

Virginia. The database will inform the lender whether you are eligible for a payday loan. 

If you are ineligible for a payday loan, the lender will provide you with the toll-free 

telephone number of the database provider, which you can use to find out the specific 

reason for your ineligibility. To enable the lender to check the database, you will be 

required to provide the lender with your original driver's license or identification card 

issued by a state driver’s licensing authority (e.g., Department of Motor Vehicles for the 

Commonwealth of Virginia). If you wish to obtain a payday loan but do not have a 

driver's license or identification card, you will need to obtain a driver's license or 

identification card from the driver’s licensing authority in your home state. 

Prohibition on Loans to Individuals with Certain Previous or Outstanding 

Loans: Virginia law prohibits a lender from making a payday loan to you if (i) you 

currently have an outstanding payday loan; (ii) you paid or satisfied in full a previous 

payday loan on the same day that you are applying for a new payday loan; (iii) in the 

past 90 days you paid or satisfied in full a previous payday loan by means of an 

extended payment plan; (iv) in the past 45 days you paid or satisfied in full a fifth payday 

loan that you obtained within a period of 180 days; (v) in the past 90 days you paid or 

satisfied in full an extended term loan; or (vi) in the past 150 days you entered into an 

extended term loan. 

It is important to note that the previous or outstanding payday loans referred to 

above include loans made by the same lender as well as any other lender conducting 

payday lending business in Virginia. 
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Prohibition on Loans to Members of the Military and their Spouses and 

Dependents: Virginia law prohibits lenders from making payday loans to members of 

the military services of the United States as well as their spouses and dependents. If you 

are a regular or reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air 

Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty under a call or order that 

does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer, the lender is prohibited from making a 

payday loan to you. The lender is also prohibited from making a loan to you if (i) you are 

married to such a member, (ii) you are less than 18 years old and the son or daughter of 

such a member, or (iii) more than one-half of your financial support for the past 180 days 

was provided by such a member. 

Limitations on Security Interest / Prohibition on Obtaining Funds 

Electronically: The lender cannot require you to provide more than one check as 

security for any payday loan. The check must be dated as of the date your loan is due. 

The lender cannot require you to provide any security for your payday loan other than a 

check payable to the lender. The lender is also prohibited from electronically debiting 

your deposit account or obtaining any of your funds by electronic means. 

One Loan at a Time / $500 Maximum: The lender cannot have more than one loan 

outstanding to you at any one time. If you currently have an outstanding payday loan 

from any lender, you cannot obtain another payday loan. The maximum loan amount is 

$500.  

Minimum Loan Term: Under Virginia law, your loan term must be at least twice as 

long as your pay cycle. For example, if you are paid on a weekly basis, your minimum 

loan term would be 14 days. 

Fees, Charges, and Interest: The lender is permitted to charge you (i) interest at a 

simple annual rate of 36%, (ii) a loan fee not exceeding 20% of the amount of money 
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advanced to you (i.e., $20 per $100 advanced), and (iii) a verification fee not exceeding 

$5.00. For example, if the lender advances you $300 for 31 days, the lender may charge 

you up to $9.30 interest, a loan fee of $60, and a verification fee of $5.00 for a total of 

$74.30. If the lender advances you $300 for 62 days, the lender may charge you up to 

$18.60 interest, a loan fee of $60, and a verification fee of $5.00 for a total of $83.60. 

Other than the specific fees and costs discussed in the section of this pamphlet entitled 

"Failure to Repay" (see below), no additional amounts may be directly or indirectly 

charged, contracted for, collected, received, or recovered by the lender. 

You will receive your loan proceeds in the form of either cash or a check from the 

lender. The lender cannot charge you a fee for cashing their check. Similarly, a check 

casher affiliated with the lender cannot charge you a fee for cashing the lender's check. 

Written Agreement: The lender must provide you with a written loan agreement, 

which must be signed by both you and an authorized representative of the lender. The 

loan agreement is a binding, legal document that requires you to repay the loan. Make 

sure you read the entire loan agreement carefully before signing and dating it. The 

lender must provide you with a duplicate original of the loan agreement at the time of 

your loan transaction. If any provision of your loan agreement violates the Payday Loan 

Act (§6.1-444 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the provision will not be enforceable 

against you. 

Extended Payment Plans: Under Virginia law eligible borrowers have the option of 

repaying a payday loan by means of an extended payment plan. You may only obtain an 

extended payment plan once in any rolling 12-month period (even if you obtain loans 

from different lenders or locations). You may obtain an extended payment plan at any 

time on or after the date that you received your loan through the date that your loan is 

due to be repaid. 
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Under an extended payment plan, you are permitted to repay the amount you owe in 

at least four equal installments spread out evenly over a term of at least 60 days. You 

will not be charged any additional interest or fees in connection with an extended 

payment plan, and interest will not accrue during the term of an extended payment plan.  

If you obtain an extended payment plan, you will not be able to get another payday 

loan from any lender for a period of 90 days after you fully repay or satisfy the extended 

payment plan. 

Five Payday Loans within 180 Days: If you are obtaining a fifth payday loan within 

a rolling 180-day period, you have the option to (i) repay the fifth loan through an 

extended payment plan, unless you previously obtained an extended payment plan 

within the preceding 12 months, or (ii) obtain the loan in the form of an extended term 

loan. 

You do not have to choose either one of these options. However, even if you do not 

obtain an extended payment plan or extended term loan, you will not be able to obtain 

another payday loan from any lender for a period of 45 days after you fully repay or 

satisfy your fifth payday loan. 

Extended payment plans are discussed above. If you are eligible to repay your fifth 

payday loan by means of an extended payment plan and choose to do so, you will not 

be able to obtain another payday loan from any lender for a period of 90 days after you 

fully repay or satisfy the extended payment plan. 

An extended term loan is a payday loan under which you are permitted to repay the 

amount you owe in four equal installments spread out evenly over a term of 60 days. 

You may obtain an extended term loan even if you previously obtained another extended 

term loan or an extended payment plan. If you want an extended term loan, you must 
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choose this option on the date you obtain the payday loan. If you obtain an extended 

term loan, you will not be able to get another payday loan from any lender for a period of 

90 days after you fully repay or satisfy the extended term loan or 150 days after you 

obtain the extended term loan (whichever is longer). 

Other Businesses: A lender is prohibited by statute from engaging in other 

businesses, besides check cashing, unless permitted by order of the State Corporation 

Commission. A lender is also prohibited by statute from selling you any type of insurance 

coverage. 

Loans for Other Products & Services: You are prohibited from using any of the 

money from your payday loan to purchase any other product or service sold at the 

lender's business location. 

Right to Cancel: You have the right to cancel your loan at any time prior to the close 

of business on the next day the lender is open following the date your loan is made by 

paying the lender the amount advanced to you in cash, certified check, cashier's check, 

money order or, if the lender is equipped to handle such payments, by using a credit 

card. 

Partial Payments and Prepayments: You have the right to make partial payments 

(in increments of not less than $5.00) on your payday loan at any time prior to its 

specified due date without penalty. If you make a partial payment, the total interest and 

loan fee you pay will be reduced (unless you have an extended payment plan or 

extended term loan -- see "Payments on Extended Payment Plans and Extended Term 

Loans" below). You have the right to receive signed, dated receipts for each payment 

made along with a statement of the balance remaining on your payday loan. You also 

have the right to prepay your loan in full before its specified due date without penalty by 

paying the lender in cash, certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if the lender 
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is equipped to handle such payments, by use of a credit, the amount of money advanced 

to you as well as any accrued and unpaid interest and fees. 

Payments on Extended Payment Plans and Extended Term Loans: You have the 

right to prepay an extended payment plan or extended term loan without penalty. 

However, unless it results in the prepayment in full of an extended payment plan or 

extended term loan, a partial payment, excess payment, installment payment, or other 

payment you give to the lender in advance of the date the funds are due does not result 

in either a change to your payment schedule or a pro-rata adjustment of the total 

interest, if any, or loan fee that you will be required to pay. Payments you make on an 

extended payment plan or extended term loan are first applied to any past due 

installment and then to your next regularly scheduled installment. The lender must give 

you receipts, signed and dated by the lender, for all payments you make on an extended 

payment plan or extended term loan. When you make a payment on an extended 

payment plan or extended term loan, you have the option to give the lender a 

replacement security check for the remaining amount you owe. 

Lender to Return Original Loan Agreement: Upon repayment of your loan in full, 

the lender must mark your original loan agreement with the word "paid" or "canceled" 

and return it to you. If you obtained an extended payment plan, the lender is also 

required to mark your original extended payment plan document with the word "paid" or 

"canceled" and return it to you. 

Lender to Return Security Check:  If you cancel your loan (see “Right to Cancel” 

above) or repay it in full with cash or by certified check, cashier's check, money order or, 

if the lender is equipped to handle such payments, by using a credit card, the lender 

must immediately return the check you gave as security for the loan. 
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No Rollovers, Extensions, Etc.: The lender cannot refinance, renew, extend, or 

rollover your payday loan. 

Failure to Repay: Pay back your loan! Know when your payment is due and be sure 

to repay your loan on time and in full. You are responsible for having sufficient funds in 

your checking account on the due date of your loan so that your check does not bounce 

if the lender deposits it in his account. If you do not repay your loan by the specified due 

date, the lender may begin accruing interest on the principal amount of your loan at a 

maximum rate of 6% per year.  

In collecting or attempting to collect a payday loan, the lender is required to comply 

with the restrictions and prohibitions applicable to debt collectors contained in the Fair 

Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC §1692 et seq., regarding harassment or abuse, 

false or misleading misrepresentations, and unfair practices in collections. The lender is 

also prohibited from threatening or beginning criminal proceedings against you if a check 

you provide to the lender bounces. If a lender knowingly violates this prohibition, the 

lender is required to pay you a civil monetary penalty equal to three times the amount of 

the dishonored check. 

If you cannot or do not repay the loan: (i) the lender is permitted to recover from you 

any fee charged to the lender (maximum of $25) as a result of your check being returned 

due to your account being closed by you or containing insufficient funds, or if you 

stopped payment on your check; and (ii) if the lender seeks and obtains judgment 

against you as a result of your returned check, the lender may obtain court costs and 

reasonable attorney's fees (total may not exceed $250) if such costs and fees are 

awarded by the court. 

The lender cannot file or initiate a legal proceeding against you until 60 days after the 

date that you default on a payday loan, including a default under an extended payment 
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plan or extended term loan. During this 60-day period the lender may voluntarily enter 

into a repayment arrangement with you. 

Legal Action Against Lender: You have the right to bring a civil action against the 

lender if you suffer a loss as a result of the lender violating any provision of the Payday 

Loan Act. If you are successful in your civil action, you have the right to be reimbursed 

for reasonable attorney's fees, expert witness fees, and court costs you have incurred in 

connection with your civil action. Losses suffered as the result of the lender's violation of 

the Payday Loan Act may also be pursued under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act 

(§59.1-196 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), which in some cases permits consumers to 

recover actual and punitive damages. 

Complaints and Contacting the Bureau of Financial Institutions: For assistance 

with any complaints you may have against a payday lender, please contact the Bureau 

of Financial Institutions toll free at (800) 552-7945 or on the Internet at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. Complaints must be filed in writing with the Bureau of 

Financial Institutions. Complaints should be mailed to Bureau of Financial Institutions, 

Attn: Complaints, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, Virginia 23218-0640, or faxed to Bureau of 

Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, at (804) 371-9416. 

10VAC5-200-110. Payday lending database. 

A. This section sets forth the rules applicable to the payday lending database 

referred to in §6.1-453.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a licensee shall transmit all 

information to the database via the Internet. In order to maintain the confidentiality and 

security of the information, a licensee shall not transmit information to the database 

using publicly accessible computers, computers that are not under the licensee's control, 
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unsecured wireless (Wi-Fi) connections, or other connections that are not secure. A 

licensee shall maintain generally accepted security safeguards to protect the 

confidentiality of the information transmitted to the database, including but not limited to 

installing and regularly updating malware protection (antivirus and antispyware) software 

and a firewall. 

C. Prior to making a payday loan, a licensee shall transmit the following information 

to the database for purposes of determining whether an applicant is eligible for a payday 

loan. The licensee shall obtain the applicant information required by this subsection in 

accordance with the provisions of subsection D of this section. 

1. Name of licensee and license number. 

2. Office location of licensee. 

3. First and last name or identification number of employee entering information 

into the database. 

4. Applicant's first and last name. 

5. Last four digits of applicant's driver's license number or identification card 

number. 

6. Applicant's address.  

7. Applicant’s date of birth. 

D. 1. A licensee shall obtain the information required by subdivisions C 4, 5, 6, and 7 

of this section directly from the applicant's unexpired original driver's license or 

identification card issued by a state driver’s licensing authority (e.g., Department of 

Motor Vehicles for the Commonwealth of Virginia), regardless of whether the information 
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on the driver's license or identification card is still accurate. A licensee shall not accept 

photocopies, facsimiles, or other reproductions of a driver's license or identification card. 

2. A licensee shall photocopy the applicant's driver's license or identification card, 

partially redact the driver’s license number or identification card number so that 

only the last four digits of the number remain visible, and retain the redacted 

photocopy in its records. 

3. A licensee shall not accept a driver's license or identification card from an 

applicant when there is reason to believe that (i) it belongs to an individual other 

than the applicant or (ii) it is fake, counterfeit, or has been altered, fraudulently 

obtained, forged, or is otherwise nongenuine or illegitimate. 

E. If the database advises a licensee that an applicant is ineligible for a payday loan, 

then the licensee shall inform the applicant of his ineligibility, instruct the applicant to 

contact the database provider for information about the specific reason for his 

ineligibility, and provide the applicant with the toll-free telephone number of the database 

provider. 

F. If the database advises a licensee that an applicant is eligible for a payday loan, 

then the licensee shall transmit the following additional information to the database prior 

to making a payday loan: 

1. Application date. 

2. Loan number. 

3. Date of loan. 

4. Principal amount of loan. 

5. Interest rate. 
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6. Dollar amount of interest to be charged until date of loan maturity. 

7. Dollar amount of loan fee to be charged. 

8. Dollar amount of verification fee to be charged. 

9. Dollar amount of total finance charges. 

10. Annual Percentage Rate (APR) of loan. 

11. Number of days in applicant's pay cycle. 

12. Number of days in loan term. 

13. Date loan is due. 

14. Dollar amount of check given by applicant to secure the loan i.e., at the time 

the loan is made. 

G. If the database advises a licensee that an applicant is eligible for an extended 

payment plan or extended term loan and the applicant subsequently elects an extended 

payment plan or extended term loan, then the licensee shall transmit the following 

additional applicable information to the database no later than the time the licensee 

closes for business on the date the applicant enters into the extended payment plan or 

extended term loan: 

1. Date the extended payment plan or extended term loan is entered into. 

2. Principal amount owed under the extended payment plan or extended term 

loan. 

3. Number of installment payments and the amount of each payment to be made 

under the extended payment plan or extended term loan. 

4. Date each installment payment is due under the extended payment plan or 

extended term loan. 
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5. Number of days in term of extended payment plan or extended term loan. 

H. For purposes of this section, a licensee closes for business when it officially shuts 

its doors to the general public on a business day, or within one hour thereafter. 

I. A licensee shall generate a separate printout from the database showing the 

results of each loan eligibility query, including whether an applicant is eligible for an 

extended payment plan or extended term loan, and retain the printout in its loan records. 

J. Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions 3, 7, and 8 of this subsection, a 

licensee shall transmit the following additional information, as applicable, to the 

database no later than the time the licensee closes for business on the date of the event: 

1. If a borrower cancels a payday loan, the date of the cancellation. 

2. If a payday loan (including an extended term loan or a loan that a borrower 

elected to repay by means of an extended payment plan) is repaid or otherwise 

satisfied in full, (i) the date of repayment or satisfaction, and (ii)  the total net 

dollar amount ultimately paid by the borrower in connection with the loan (i.e., 

principal amount of loan plus all fees and charges received or collected pursuant 

to §§6.1-460 and 6.1-461 of the Code of Virginia, less any amount refunded to 

the borrower as a result of overpayment).  

3. If a check used to repay a loan in full is returned unpaid, the date the check is 

returned unpaid and the dollar amount of the check.  A licensee shall transmit 

such information to the database no later than five calendar days after the date 

the check is returned unpaid. 

4. If a licensee collects a returned check fee from a borrower, the dollar amount 

of the returned check fee. 
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5. If a licensee initiates a legal proceeding against a borrower for nonpayment of 

a payday loan, the date the proceeding is initiated and the total dollar amount 

sought to be recovered. 

6. If a licensee obtains a judgment against a borrower, the date and total dollar 

amount of the judgment. 

7. If a judgment obtained by a licensee against a borrower is satisfied, the date of 

satisfaction.  A licensee shall transmit such information to the database on the 

date the licensee learns that the judgment has been satisfied. 

8. If a licensee collects any court costs or attorney's fees from a borrower, the 

dollar amount of the court costs or attorney's fees. A licensee shall transmit such 

information to the database on the date the licensee learns that the court costs or 

attorney’s fees have been paid. 

9. If a licensee charges off a payday loan as uncollectible, the date the loan is 

charged off and the total dollar amount charged off. 

K. 1. If any information required to be transmitted by a licensee to the database is 

automatically populated or calculated by the database provider, the licensee shall verify 

the information and immediately correct any inaccuracies or other errors. 

2. If a licensee becomes aware of any changes, inaccuracies, or other errors in 

the information previously verified or transmitted by the licensee to the database, 

the licensee shall immediately update or correct the database. 

L. The following provisions address a licensee's inability to access the database at 

the time of loan application: 

1. If at the time a licensee receives a loan application the licensee is unable to 

access the database due to technical problems beyond the licensee's control, the 
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licensee shall contact the database provider's call center and request that the call 

center enter the information required by this section and query the database on 

the licensee's behalf. The licensee shall document in its records the technical 

problems it experienced, the specific information it provided to the call center, the 

result of each query (including the applicant's eligibility for an extended payment 

plan or extended term loan), the date and time of the phone call, and the first and 

last name or identification number of the person in the call center who provided 

the results of the query to the licensee. 

2. If at the time a licensee receives a loan application the licensee is unable to 

access the database due to technical problems beyond the licensee's control and 

the database provider's call center is either closed or also unable to access the 

database, then the licensee may make a payday loan to an applicant if the 

applicant signs and dates a separate document containing all of the 

representations and responses to the questions set forth below and the 

prospective loan otherwise complies with the provisions of the Act and this 

chapter. The document shall be printed in a type size of not less than 14 point 

and contain a statement that the representations and questions relate to loans 

obtained from either the licensee or another payday lender. The licensee shall 

retain the original document in its loan file and provide the applicant with a 

duplicate original. The licensee shall also document in its records the technical 

problems it experienced and the date and time that it sought to query the 

database. 

a. The representations to be made by an applicant are as follows: 

(1) I do not currently have any outstanding payday loans. 

(2) I did not repay or otherwise satisfy in full a payday loan today. 
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(3) In the past 90 days I did not repay or otherwise satisfy in full a payday 

loan by means of an extended payment plan. 

(4) In the past 45 days I did not repay or otherwise satisfy in full a fifth payday 

loan that was obtained within a period of 180 days. 

(5) In the past 90 days I did not repay or otherwise satisfy in full an extended 

term loan. 

(6) I did not obtain an extended term loan within the past 150 days. 

(7) I am not a regular or reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, 

Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active 

duty under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer. 

(8) I am not married to a regular or reserve member of the United States 

Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard 

serving on active duty under a call or order that does not specify a period of 

30 days or fewer 

(9) I am not under the age of 18 and the son or daughter of a regular or 

reserve member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, 

Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty under a call or order 

that does not specify a period of 30 days or fewer. 

(10) One-half or less (including none) of my financial support for the past 180 

days was provided by a regular or reserve member of the United States 

Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard 

serving on active duty under a call or order that does not specify a period of 

30 days or fewer. 

b. The questions to be presented to an applicant are as follows: 



Page 35 of 39  

(1) In the past 12 months, have you obtained an extended payment plan in 

order to repay a payday loan? If the applicant's response is "no" and the 

applicant is eligible for a payday loan, then the licensee shall immediately 

provide the applicant with the oral notice prescribed in subdivision C 4 of 

10VAC5-200-33. 

(2) Have you obtained four or more payday loans within the past 180 days?  

If the applicant's response is "yes" and the applicant is eligible for a payday 

loan, then the licensee shall immediately provide the applicant with the oral 

notice prescribed in subdivision E 4 of 10VAC5-200-35. 

3. If a licensee makes a payday loan based upon an applicant's written 

representations and responses, then the licensee shall transmit the information 

required by this section to the database no later than the time the licensee closes 

for business on the date the database becomes accessible to the licensee, either 

directly or through the database provider's call center. 

M. The following provisions address a licensee's inability to access the database 

subsequent to loan application: 

1. If a licensee is required to transmit to the database information regarding a 

loan that has already been made, but the licensee is unable to access the 

database due to technical problems beyond the licensee's control, then the 

licensee shall contact the database provider's call center and request that the call 

center enter the information required by this section on the licensee's behalf. The 

licensee shall document in its records the technical problems it experienced, the 

specific information it provided to the call center, the date and time of the phone 

call, and the first and last name or identification number of the person in the call 

center who entered the information on the licensee's behalf. 
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2. If a licensee is required to transmit to the database information regarding a 

loan that has already been made, but the licensee is unable to access the 

database due to technical problems beyond the licensee's control and the 

database provider's call center is closed or also unable to access the database, 

then the licensee shall transmit to the database the information required by this 

section no later than the time the licensee closes for business on the date the 

database becomes accessible to the licensee, either directly or through the 

database provider's call center. The licensee shall also document in its records 

the technical problems it experienced and the date and time that it sought to 

transmit the information to the database. 

N. By the close of business on each business day, a licensee shall transmit to the 

database the total daily number (even if 0) of individuals who were unable to obtain 

payday loans from the licensee because they are members of the military services of the 

United States, or the spouses or other dependents of members of the military services of 

the United States. If the licensee is unable to access the database due to technical 

problems beyond the licensee's control, then the licensee shall transmit to the database 

the information required by this subsection no later than the time the licensee closes for 

business on the next business day that the licensee is able to access the database. The 

licensee shall also document in its records the technical problems it experienced and the 

date and time that it sought to transmit the information to the database. 

O. A licensee shall have limited access to the information contained in the database. 

The database shall only provide a licensee with the following information: (i) whether an 

applicant is eligible for a new payday loan; (ii) if an applicant is ineligible for a new 

payday loan, the general reason for the ineligibility (e.g., the database may state that the 

applicant has an outstanding payday loan but it shall not furnish any details regarding 
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the outstanding loan); and (iii) if an applicant is eligible for a new payday loan, whether 

the applicant is also eligible for an extended payment plan or extended term loan. The 

database shall also permit a licensee to access information that the licensee is required 

to transmit to the database provided that such access is for the sole purpose of verifying, 

updating, or correcting the information. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, 

a licensee shall be prohibited from accessing or otherwise obtaining any information 

contained in or derived from the database. 

P. If the Commissioner of Financial Institutions determines that a licensee has 

ceased business but still has one or more outstanding payday loans that cannot be 

repaid due to the licensee's closure, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions may 

authorize the database provider to mark the outstanding loans as satisfied in the 

database in order to enable the affected borrowers to obtain payday loans in the future. 

Q. 1. Except as provided in subsection F of 10VAC5-200-35, payday loans made on 

or after October 1, 2008, and prior to January 1, 2009, that remain outstanding on 

January 1, 2009, shall be considered for purposes of determining a borrower's eligibility 

for a payday loan. Accordingly, on or before January 1, 2009, a licensee shall transmit 

the following information to the database in connection with every payday loan made on 

or after October 1, 2008, that will or may be outstanding as of January 1, 2009: 

a. Name of licensee and license number. 

b. Office location of licensee. 

c. First and last name or identification number of employee entering 

information into the database. 

d. Borrower's first and last name. 
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e. Last four digits of borrower's driver's license number or identification card 

number. 

f. Borrower's address. 

g. Borrower's date of birth. 

h. Date loan funds were disbursed. 

i. Date loan is due. 

2. A licensee shall obtain and retain the borrower information required by this 

subsection in accordance with the provisions of subsection D of this section. 

3. For every payday loan made on or after October 1, 2008, that remains 

outstanding as of January 1, 2009, a licensee shall transmit to the database all 

applicable information required by subsection J of this section within the time 

prescribed therein or January 1, 2009, whichever is later. 

10VAC5-200-120. Enforcement. 

A. Failure to comply with any provision of the Act or this chapter may result in fines, 

license suspension, or license revocation. 

B. Pursuant to §6.1-467 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee shall be subject to a 

separate fine of up to $1,000 for every violation of the Act, this chapter, or other law or 

regulation applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business. If a licensee violates any 

provision of the Act, this chapter, or other law or regulation applicable to the conduct of 

the licensee's business in connection with multiple loans or borrowers, the licensee shall 

be subject to a separate fine for each loan or borrower. For example, if a licensee makes 

five loans and the licensee violates two provisions of this chapter that are applicable to 

the five loans, the licensee shall be subject to a maximum fine of $10,000. 
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C. If a licensee (i) fails to transmit information to the payday lending database in 

accordance with the Act or 10VAC5-200-110, (ii) transmits incorrect information to the 

database, or (iii) transmits information to the database in an untimely manner, the 

licensee shall be subject to a separate fine under §6.1-467 of the Code of Virginia for 

each item of data that is omitted, incorrect, or untimely. For example, if a licensee makes 

three loans and fails to transmit two items of information to the database in connection 

with each of the three loans, the licensee shall be subject to a maximum fine of $6,000. 


