
Virginia Intrastate Crowdfunding Exemption 

and Regulation A Comparison 
 

 Virginia Intrastate 

Crowdfunding 

Exemption 

Regulation A 

Tier 1 Tier 2 

State Filing 

Requirements 

 

 

$250 Filing Fee 

 

Form ICE 

$250 - $500 Filing 

Fee 

 

Form U-1 or S.A. 8 

 

Items required by       

§ 13.1-510 

No Filing Fee or Form 

(Commission may 

require by rule a 

Notice Filing and Fee 

in the future) 

Offering Amounts 

 

 

Up to $2,000,000 Up to $20,000,000 Up to $50,000,000 

Offering Period 

 

 

12 months  12 months 12 months 

Offeree Types 

 

 

All, including non-

accredited investor 

 

VA Residents only 

All, including non-

accredited investor 

All, including non-

accredited investor 

Individual 

Investment Limits 

 

Non-accredited: 

Maximum of $10,000 

 

None Non-accredited: 

Maximum of 10% of 

income or 10% of net 

worth, whichever is 

higher 

Investor Verification 

 

 

Self-Certification N/A Self-Certification 

Advertising / 

General Solicitation 

 

Unrestricted Unrestricted Unrestricted 

Testing the Waters 

 

Not permitted Testing the waters 

allowed; issuer must 

file with state in 

accordance with 

§13.1-514.1 C and  

Rule 21VAC5-40-70 

Testing the waters 

allowed but states are 

pre-empted from 

requiring a filing 

under federal rules. 

Offering Documents 

 

 

Form ICE or other 

disclosure document 

 

 

Robust – State 

Registration by 

Qualification (§13.1-

510) and SEC 

Approval 

Robust – SEC 

Approval 



Virginia Intrastate Crowdfunding Exemption 

and Regulation A Comparison 
 

Financials 

Disclosure 

 

$500,000 or less – 

Certified by officer 

 

More than $500,000 

but less than 

$1,000,000 – 

Reviewed Financials 

 

$1 million or more – 

Audited Financials 

For offerings that 

include Virginia, 

audited financials are 

required. 

Audited Financials  

(2 years) 

Ongoing Disclosure / 

Filing 

 

Annual Disclosure 

and Financials 

None Annual, Semi-Annual, 

Current Reports 

including audited 

financials 

Termination of 

Ongoing Reporting 

 

3 fiscal years after 

commencement of 

offering 

N/A Issuer has less than 

300 shareholders of 

Reg A+ stock and 

have no ongoing 

offers or sales 

Transfer Restriction 

 

 

For 9 months after 

Issuer’s last sale, 

transfers limited to 

VA residents only 

 

None  None 

Shareholder Limit 

 

 

None None with conditions None with conditions 

Intermediary 

 

 

None Required None Required None Required 

State Pre-emption 

 

 

No pre-emption; 

Filing required (See 

21VAC5-40-190) 

No pre-emption; 

Coordinated Review 

Program available 

amongst states. 

Yes; however, the 

Commission may 

require by rule a 

Notice Filing and Fee 

in the future. 

Related Virginia 

Statute and 

Regulations 

§ 13.1-514 B 21 

 

21VAC5-40-190 

§ 13.1.510 of the 

Virginia Securities 

Act 

 

N/A 

 
March 2016 


