
Notice to Virginia Payday Loan Customers 
 
 
The Virginia Payday Loan Act which allows payday lending in Virginia was 
amended by the 2008 Virginia General Assembly.  Beginning January 1, 
2009, some of the changes to the Virginia Payday Loan Act included: 
 

 One Payday Loan at a time per borrower  
 
 Database established to track and determine eligibility for payday 

loans 
 
 Longer repayment term for payday loans.  The due date for a Virginia 

payday loan from a licensee will now be based on two times your pay 
cycle.  Thus, if you get paid once a week, you will have two weeks to 
repay the loan.   

 
 Change in fees, charges & interest 

Interest – a maximum simple annual rate of up to 36% 
Loan Fee – up to 20% of the amount of the loan (maximum of  
         $100 loan fee on a $500 loan) 
Verification Fee – up to $5.00 (database fee) 

 
 Payday loan shall not be made on the same day one is paid in full 
 
 Extended Payment Plan may be available on payday loans obtained 

after January 1, 2009.  There are conditions which apply, see your 
payday lender for questions.   

 
 Extended Term Loan may be available on a 5th payday loan in a 180 

day period obtained after January 1, 2009.  There are conditions 
which apply, see your payday lender for questions.     

 
 
 
 

 


