
REVISED 
FILING INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE  

“VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” FORM (NEW) 
FOR YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2015 

 
VIRGINIA HAS CHANGED THE FORMS REQUIRED TO BE FILED FOR THE MAINTENANCE 
ASSESSMENT, ALL SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS AND THE PAYMENT VOUCHER.  THE NEW 
“VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” COMBINES ALL OF THE ASSESSMENT 
REPORTS AND THE PAYMENT VOUCHER INTO A ONE PAGE FORM.  WE HAVE ALSO 
CREATED THE “ADJUSTMENTS TO SCHEDULE T PREMIUM” FORM WHICH SHOWS THE 
ADJUSTMENTS THAT MUST BE MADE TO RECONCILE SCHEDULE T PREMIUM TO THE 
ASSESSABLE PREMIUM ON THE REPORT.  THE “ADJUSTMENTS” FORM MUST BE 
SUBMITTED WITH THE “VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER”.  THE FORMS AND 
CHECK MUST BE SUBMITTED ON OR BEFORE MARCH 1, 2016.  PENALTY AND INTEREST 
WILL BE ASSESSED FOR ANY PAYMENT MADE AFTER THE DUE DATE.  ALSO, THE 
“VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” IS SUBJECT TO A $50 PER DAY PENALTY 
FOR FAILURE TO FILE BY THE DUE DATE.  ACH OR ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS OF ANY KIND 
ARE NOT ACCEPTED. 
 

FORMS 
(NOTE:  If the 2015 Virginia Insurance Premiums License Tax Return is erroneously filed with the Bureau of 

Insurance, it WILL BE RETURNED TO THE COMPANY for proper filing with the Department of Taxation.  

Also, if the “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher” form is erroneously filed with the Department of Taxation 

and received in the Bureau of Insurance after March 1
st
, it will be subject to a $50 per day penalty and the 

payment will be subject to a 10% penalty and interest.) 

 
The new “VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” is available on the Bureau of Insurance’s website: 

www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/assess/filing.aspx. It is “company specific”, meaning it is designed to show only the 

assessments required for the company whose NAIC number has been entered.  If you have multiple companies, you 

MUST re-enter each company’s NAIC number in order to determine which assessments are required to be paid.  The 

required assessments are designated by having a Form ID number in the box under that column heading.  Assessments not 

required are indicated with “N/A” in the Form ID box.  This Report MUST be filed by March 1
st
 and IS SUBJECT TO a 

penalty of $50 per day and the payment is subject to a 10% penalty and interest, if filed after the due date. 

 

The new “ADJUSTMENTS TO SCHEDULE T PREMIUM” for the Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher is also 

required to be filed.  It shows the adjustments, if any, that need to be made to Schedule T premium when the reported 

Assessable Premium is different.  An adjustment area is available for each Assessment that can be filed.  Should you need 

additional space for your reconciliation, please attach a separate sheet and be specific as to which Assessment the 

adjustment applies. 

 
ALL ASSESSMENT CALCULATIONS MUST BE CARRIED OUT TO THE CENTS.   
PREMIUMS MUST BE SHOWN IN WHOLE DOLLARS.  
 
MERGERS DURING 2015 
Mergers are NOT recognized in Virginia the same date as in the home states of the merging companies.  The merger is 

recognized and effective in Virginia on the date the appropriate paperwork has been accepted by the Clerk’s Office of the 

State Corporation Commission, which then notifies the Bureau of Insurance of the merger. 

IF THE MERGER IS EFFECTIVE IN VIRGINIA ANY TIME DURING 2015, ONLY THE SURVIVING COMPANY 

SHOULD FILE THE 2015 ASSESSMENT PACKET.  The surviving company must file combined assessment forms that 

include the merging company’s premium. 

 

THE “VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” IS NOT PART OF THE COMPANY’S 
ANNUAL LICENSE RENEWAL PACKET OR ANNUAL STATEMENT. 
DO NOT FILE THE “VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” WITH THE ANNUAL LICENSE 

RENEWAL PACKET OR ANNUAL STATEMENT.  This form is NOT part of either of those filings.  Forms 

included with the Annual License Renewal Packet or Annual Statement and received in the Administrative 

Revenue Management Division after March 1 will be considered late.  A late Report is subject to a $50 per day 

penalty.  All payments made after the due date of March 1 are also subject to a 10% penalty and interest.  Any filing 

extensions granted for the Annual Statement DO NOT APPLY to the “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher”. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/assess/filing.aspx


 
“VIRGINIA ASSESSMENT REPORT & VOUCHER” 
The Payment Voucher has been incorporated into the Report and is no longer a separate form.  The Payment Amount 

column is calculated by multiplying the Assessable Premium shown on the Report by the rate shown.  The calculated 

amount or the minimum payment amount, whichever is higher, MUST be entered in the Payment Amount column on 

the “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher” form.  Add the Payment Amount column and enter the sum of the amounts 

due in the CHECK TOTAL field.  Your payment should match the CHECK TOTAL field on the Report.  Make 

your check payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA. 

 
MAILING ADDRESS FOR THE ASSESSMENT FORMS AND PAYMENT 

(DO NOT SEND ANNUAL STATEMENTS OR LICENSE RENEWAL FILINGS TO THESE ADDRESSES) 
 
Filings stamped by an individual metering machine that do not reflect a postmark date will be recorded on the date 

received.  You will be subject to penalties and interest if received after the due date. 

 

REGULAR MAIL OVERNIGHT OR EXPRESS MAIL 

State Corporation Commission State Corporation Commission 

TAA Insurance 2 TAA Insurance 2 

P. O. Box 759064 Lockbox 759064 

Baltimore, MD  21275-9064 7175 Columbia Gateway Drive 

 Columbia, MD  21046 

 

      

COMPUTER GENERATED FORMS 
IF YOU ARE USING APPROVED COMPUTER GENERATED FORMS YOU MUST determine if the FIRE 

PROGRAMS ASSESSMENT, FLOOD ASSESSMENT, HEAT ASSESSMENT and FRAUD ASSESSMENT are 

required to be paid by your company.  In order to make that determination, you MUST go to 

www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/assess/filing.aspx (the Bureau of Insurance’s website).  The filing must be made if a number 

shows in the Form ID box for that assessment. (“N/A” is shown in the Form ID box for assessments not required.)  Make 

sure the Form ID numbers from the website match the Form ID numbers shown on the computer generated form.  Failure 

to follow this procedure may result in an erroneous payment being made that WILL NOT be refunded or the calculation 

of penalty and interest on a required payment that was not made.  Also, if an assessment has been required in the past that 

is not shown on the current “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher”, you should contact the Administrative Revenue 

Management Division at (804)-371-9239 or (804)-371-9333 to ascertain whether the assessment is still required. 

 

 The Bureau has approved forms generated by the following companies. 

   
  TriTech Software Development Corp.  Eagle Technology Management, Inc.  Corptax LLC 

  1205 S. Greenville Ave.  1425 60th Street NE, Suite 400  1751 Lake Cook Road, Suite 200 

  Allen, TX  75002  Cedar Rapids, IA  52402  Deerfield, IL  60015 

  

DIRECT GROSS PREMIUM INCOME 
Includes: 

 all premiums, assessments, dues and fees collected, received or derived, or obligations taken therefore, from business 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia during the calendar year 2015.  Reciprocal or inter-insurance exchanges shall 

include in this report the gross premium or deposit income collected, received or derived from and credited to the 

accounts of subscribers from business in Virginia during 2015, decreased by all returns for cancellation and all 

amounts returned to subscribers or credited to their accounts as savings. 

 Finance and Service Charges shown on Schedule T that are not included in direct written premium. 

 Uninsured Motorist Fund distribution as shown in the Annual Statement as automobile liability premium.  It will be 

necessary to manually adjust the Annual Statement if this distribution was received after December 31
st
.   The UM 

Fund premium is to be shown on the “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher” in the space provided as Included in 

Schedule T premium or on the “Adjustment” form as Added.  Penalty and interest will be due if this amount is not 

shown and has to be added as additional premium during the audit. 

Fair Plan Premium as reported to you by the Virginia Property Insurance Association.  This premium must be shown 

on the “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher” in the space provided as Included in Schedule T premium or on the 

“Adjustment” form as Added.  It will be necessary to manually adjust the Annual Statement if this distribution was 

received after December 31
st
.  Penalty and interest will be due if this amount is not shown and has to be added as 

additional premium during the audit. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/assess/filing.aspx


Excess Workers’ Compensation Insurance premiums shown on Line 17.3 of Page 19 of the Annual Statement.  In 

the absence of such proper segregation of premiums, a reconciliation is required to be shown on each report it affects, 

accounting for excess liability premiums. 

Cash Surrender Values used to purchase replacement policies are included as direct gross premium income.  In the 

absence of proper reporting of such premiums, a reconciliation is required to be shown on each report it affects, 

accounting for cash surrender values. 

 

A Total Assessable Premium that is negative should be treated as zero.  Negative premiums do not result in a refund.   

 

Excludes: 

 premiums received for reinsurance assumed from licensed insurance companies; premiums that provide life, accident 

and sickness insurance issued on a group basis insuring your employees, agents and representatives; annuity 

premiums; Federal Employee Health Benefit Plan premiums; federally reinsured crop insurance premiums; federal 

flood insurance premiums; Medicare Part D premium and Medicare Advantage premium.  If Medicare premium is 

reported as Accident and Sickness premium, it should be deducted as an “Other” adjustment. 

 

Deductions: 

 cannot be taken for dividends paid nor on any other account except for premiums returned on canceled policies or on 

account of a reduction in rates or a reduction in the amount insured.  Mutual insurers, other than life companies, may 

deduct refunds or returns made to policyholders otherwise than for losses. 

 

FRAUD ASSESSMENT REPORT 
The Fraud Assessment is equal to 0.05 of 1% of written premium, including finance & service charges, for all property 

and casualty lines, except title.  For Workers Compensation Group Self-Insurance Associations, this assessment is 

calculated on Manual Premium. 

 

ASSESSMENT ADDRESS AND CONTACT INFORMATION  
The CONTACT INFORMATION must now be updated on-line.  Click on the Update Assessment Address and Contact 

Information link in the “Insurance Company: Assessment Filing Information” area of the website.  Enter your company’s 

Login Code (which has been provided to you in the letter sent earlier).  The CONTACT INFORMATION currently on 

file will appear.  If you wish to change the current information, click YES to the question at the bottom of the screen.  

Enter the revised information and click UPDATE CONTACT INFORMATION.  A one (1) line street address of no more 

than 40 characters is now required.  An e-mail confirming the change, displaying both the old and new information, will 

be sent to the e-mail address entered.   

The contact should be the person responsible for answering questions regarding information stated on the assessment 

forms.  The Assessment Contact Information must be kept current.  Failure to change this information, as necessary, could 

result in the misdirection of critical information, which may cause penalties and/or interest to be assessed.   

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
The check submitted MUST match the total amount shown on the “Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher”.  At the 

present time, the Bureau of Insurance does not have the capability to accept any Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 

assessment payment transactions.  Notification will be sent to all companies if this capability becomes available. 

 
If you have questions regarding any of the above information or any of the forms provided, please contact the 

Administrative Revenue Management Division at (804) 371-9239 or (804) 371-9333, or via e-mail, 

Keith.Kelley@scc.virginia.gov prior to filing the forms. 

 

Links are provided for relative statutes of the Code of Virginia and an assessment rate chart.  Forms can be filled 

out on-line, but must be printed and mailed to the address given in these instructions.  We DO NOT ACCEPT 

electronic filings of the assessment report or ACH or electronic payments.   

 

I have read these instructions in their entirety and wish to proceed to download the annual 
“Virginia Assessment Report & Voucher” form. 
 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/boi/external/app/taxforms/docompanycontactupdate.asp
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/boi/external/app/taxforms/docompanycontactupdate.asp
mailto:Keith.Kelley@scc.virginia.gov
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/boi/external/App/TaxForms/



